Access Points

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎01-27-2011

AP 65 boot problem in a Loop

Below is the read out I get when I use the serial to POE connection to the AP. Is there anything I can do to get the AP to hit the master download the config? thanks for your response.

APBoot 1.5.5 (build taylor@harpua-ENG.0000)
Built: 2006-02-24 18:31:22 (with gcc 3.3.1)

CPU: AR5312 MIPS-32 at 220 MHz: 16 kB I-Cache 16 kB D-Cache
Board: Mataro, Local Bus at 110 MHz
DRAM: 32 MB
POST: passed
FLASH: 4 MB
Net: en0 lo0

Hit to stop autoboot: 0
Loading FLASH image @ 0xbfc40000... not present
Loading FLASH image @ 0xbfc80000... not present
BOOTP broadcast 1
tftpboot failed, retrying in one second
BOOTP broadcast 2
tftpboot failed, retrying in one second
BOOTP broadcast 3
tftpboot failed, retrying in one second
BOOTP broadcast 4
tftpboot failed, retrying in one second
BOOTP broadcast 5
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: AP 65 boot problem in a Loop

Looks like it might not be getting an ip address. Do you have dhcp scope available on that subnet?
Contributor I
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎01-27-2011

Re: AP 65 boot problem in a Loop

Yes I do.

I tried some setenv statements:
serverip
gateway
submask
cmdboot
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,279
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP 65 boot problem in a Loop

Clear those setenv by doing a "purge", then "save", then "reset".

Stop the AP when the countdown starts and type "dhcp" and see if it gets an ip address. It should also tell you if it discovered the master controller and what the ip address it. Has any access point worked at that current location? Did you try a different access point?


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎03-16-2011

Re: AP 65 boot problem in a Loop

I think the image on the AP is corrupted or somehow erased.. If it's possible, connect the AP directly to the controller.. It should get the IP address (if controller is the dhcp srv) and get the AP image from controller..
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,279
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP 65 boot problem in a Loop




Not sure about it being corrupted, but It needs to get an ip address, period. It would seem that it is not getting an ip address, which is the main problem here.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎03-16-2011

Re: AP 65 boot problem in a Loop




Loading FLASH image @ 0xbfc80000... not present
BOOTP broadcast 1
tftpboot failed, retrying in one second

I think it cannot boot from its flash and trying TFTPboot if the above message is correct.. If it can boot succesfully then it will search for an IP address..

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,279
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP 65 boot problem in a Loop

That message is typical, especially on new access points. It still needs to get an ip address. It still can only do a tftpboot if it gets an ip address.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎01-27-2011

Re: AP 65 boot problem in a Loop

There are several other APs in the building working. I tested the Ethernet port that it is coming off of. I will try the DHCP command. I do have some spare 200 controllers that I can configure for dhcp. Thanks for the ideas
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: