Access Points

Occasional Contributor I

AP105 Unable to find master loop

I have a 3600 controlller setup with several Ap105'S. They have the same setup and work properly:

AP Group: assigned
Host Controller Name : us1wlanmgt
Static IP address is set

AP name is changed.

Recently, I did the exact same setup and the AP105 continues to go into a loop stating the master can not be found.

If I set the Master Controller IP Address/DNS name to us1wlanmgt, then it works properly. Why is an optional feild required in a single controller setup?

I'm also new with working with Aruba, the Network Admin handed me this project. Is there any good documentation to read on how the controller and the AP operate together?
Guru Elite

Re: AP105 Unable to find master loop

What is your discovery method? dns, dhcp option, broadcasts? If you use a static ip address for APs, you should put a static ip address for the master controller, instead of a dns name.

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I

We use static IP's. The network admin started using dns entries for the first 40 of these and want everyone to be the same.

We use DNS, I thought if you only had one controller, then the AP will get the master controller from the host controller field.
Aruba Employee

Jason,

What version of code are you using? In 5.0.3.x and higher (up to 6.1.2.1), there is a timeout of 10 seconds on the master discovery. Prior to 5.0.3 and after 6.1.2.1 (6.1.2.2 will be released in the next few weeks), the timeout goes back to 60 seconds. If you have static IP addresses and spanning-tree port-fast is DISABLED (normal 45 second spanning tree listening/learning/forwarding cycle), the master discovery will time-out and the AP will reboot continually. Enable spanning-tree port-fast if this is your case.