Access Points

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎07-10-2009

AP105 not getting IP and not showing in the controller

Hello I've recently upgraded from 3.4.0.4 to 3.4.2.3 to gain support for a recently bought ap105.
After the upgrade I've pluged the AP105 to the aruba vlan. The PWR and ENET are blinking but the AP don't show up in the controller, neither on dhcp logs I see his mac claiming for an IP.

How many time takes an AP105 to download the firmware the first time?

Thanks
Aruba Employee
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎04-02-2007

Re: AP105 not getting IP and not showing in the controller

Shouldn't take that long, have you tried watching the console port to see what's going on? Sounds like it's not getting an IP address from your description, it would be interesting to see what's going on from the AP side. Also, if you plug your laptop into the same wire I assume you can get an IP and resolve aruba-master, correct?

-awl
Andy Logan, ACDX
Director, Strategic Account Solutions
Aruba Networks
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎07-10-2009

Re: AP105 not getting IP and not showing in the controller

Yes, prior to plug AP105 there was an AP60 working correctly and showing on both dhcp logs and aruba controller.

So you suggest that i make plug a cable on the serial console and see whats happening inside the AP. Let's try.
Aruba Employee
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎04-02-2007

Re: AP105 not getting IP and not showing in the controller

Yes, there is a console port on the bottom of the 105, you should be able to use the same settings and connection you use for the controller.

-awl
Andy Logan, ACDX
Director, Strategic Account Solutions
Aruba Networks
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎07-10-2009

Re: AP105 not getting IP and not showing in the controller

Done:

APBoot 1.0.9.8 (build 21688)
Built: 2009-06-25 at 23:15:57

Model: AP-10x
CPU: AR7161 revision: A2
Clock: 680 MHz, DDR clock: 340 MHz, Bus clock: 170 MHz
DRAM: 128 MB
POST1: passed
Copy: done
Flash: 16 MB
PCI: scanning bus 0 ...
dev fn venID devID class rev MBAR0 MBAR1 MBAR2 MBAR3
00 00 168c 0029 00002 01 10000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
01 00 168c 0029 00002 01 10010000 00000000 00000000 00000000
Net: eth0
Radio: ar922x#0, ar922x#1

Hit to stop autoboot: 0
Checking image @ 0xbf100000

Image is signed; verifying checksum... passed
Signer Cert OK
Policy Cert OK
RSA signature verified.
ELF file is 32 bit
Loading .text @ 0x80e00000 (3271208 bytes)
Clearing .bss @ 0x8111ea30 (16 bytes)
Loading .data @ 0x8111ea40 (32 bytes)
## Starting application at 0x80e00000 ...
Uncompressing..............................
Í
Aruba Networks
ArubaOS Version 3.4.1.1 (build 22891 / label #22891)
Built by p4build@stan on 2009-11-18 at 14:37:21 PST (gcc version 3.4.3)
Cache parity protection disabled
Using 340.000 MHz high precision timer. cycles_per_jiffy=680000
Memory: 123904k/131072k available (1608k kernel code, 7068k reserved, 444k data,
2564k init, 0k highmem)
available.
detected lzma initramfs
initramfs: LZMA lc=3,lp=0,pb=2,dictSize=8388608,origSize=13018112
LZMA initramfs by Ming-Ching Tiew ...........................
................................................................................
................................................................................
............
AR7100 GPIOC major 0
wdt: registered with refresh
Enabling Watchdog
Creating 1 MTD partitions on "ar7100-nor0":
0x00000000-0x01000000 : "flash"
i2c /dev entries driver
i2c-talisker: using default base 0x18040000
AD7416 driver probing for devices on AR7100 I2C
.
Starting Kernel SHA1 KAT ...Completed Kernel SHA1 KAT
Starting Kernel HMAC-SHA1 KAT ...Completed Kernel HMAC-SHA1 KAT
Starting Kernel DES KAT ...Completed Kernel DES KAT
Starting Kernel AES KAT ...Completed Kernel AES KAT

apfcutil -c RAP: OK...................
<4>ag7100_mod: module license 'unspecified' taints kernel.
AG7100: Length per segment 512
AG7100: Max segments per packet 4
AG7100: Max tx descriptor count 400
AG7100: Max rx descriptor count 252
AG7100: fifo cfg 3 018001ff
AG7100CHH: Mac address for unit 0
AG7100CHH: 00:24:6c:c0:07:cd
ATHRF1: Port 0, Neg Success
ATHRF1: unit 0 phy addr 0 ATHRF1: reg0 0
AP xml model 39, num_radios 2 (jiffies 2128)
init_asap_mod: installation:1
radio 0: band 1 ant 0 max_ssid 8
radio 1: band 0 ant 0 max_ssid 8
asap_gre_init: ADDED GRE protocol c009d358
Got all network params from APboag7100_ring_alloc Allocated 4800 at 0x80330000
ot env. Skippingag7100_ring_alloc Allocated 3024 at 0x80362000
AG7100: cfg1 0xf cfg2 0x7014
DHCP
ATHRF1: Port 0, Neg Success
ATHRF1: unit 0 phy addr 0 ATHRF1: reg0 3100
AG7100: unit 0: phy not up carrier 1
Writing 4
AG7100: unit 0 phy is up...RGMii 1000Mbps full duplex
AG7100: pll reg 0x18050010: 0x110000 AG7100: cfg_1: 0x1ff0000
AG7100: cfg_2: 0x3ff
AG7100: cfg_3: 0x18001ff
AG7100: cfg_4: 0xffff
AG7100: cfg_5: 0xfffef
AG7100: done cfg2 0x7215 ifctl 0x0 miictrl 0x22
172.16.100.111 255.255.255.0 172.16.100.1
Running ADP...Done. Master is 10.197.3.201
ath_hal: 0.9.17.1 (AR5416, REGOPS_FUNC, PRIVATE_DIAG, WRITE_EEPROM, 11D)
ath_rate_atheros: Copyright (c) 2001-2005 Atheros Communications, Inc, All Right
s Reserved
ath_dfs: Version 2.0.0
Copyright (c) 2005-2006 Atheros Communications, Inc. All Rights Reserved
ath_dev: Copyright (c) 2001-2007 Atheros Communications, Inc, All Rights Reserve
d
ath_pci: 0.9.4.5 (Atheros/multi-bss)
wifi0: Base BSSID 00:24:6c:80:7c:d8, 8 available BSSID(s)
edev->dev_addr=00:24:6c:c0:07:cd
edev->dev_addr=00:24:6c:c0:07:cd
wifi0: AP type AP-105, radio 0, max_bssids 8
wifi0: Atheros 9280: mem=0x10010000, irq=49 hw_base=0xb0010000
wifi1: Base BSSID 00:24:6c:80:7c:d0, 8 available BSSID(s)
edev->dev_addr=00:24:6c:c0:07:cd
edev->dev_addr=00:24:6c:c0:07:cd
wifi1: AP type AP-105, radio 1, max_bssids 8
wifi1: Atheros 9280: mem=0x10000000, irq=48 hw_base=0xb0000000

<<<<< Welcome to the Access Point >>>>>

~ # Kernel watchdog refresh ended.

The strange thing is here:
AG7100: done cfg2 0x7215 ifctl 0x0 miictrl 0x22
172.16.100.111 255.255.255.0 172.16.100.1
Running ADP...Done. Master is 10.197.3.201

This is not my controller IP.
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,582
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Find out

It is time to find out what that ip 10.197.3.201 is. Try to log into it.

Could you possibly have another deployment in your organization? does "aruba-master" resolve to anything? Could you possibly have DHCP option 43 configured for that subnet?


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-09-2007

Re: Find Out

If your network is configured to support multicast and you have another Aruba controller on the network that is configured to support multicast, then it is likely that your AP is finding that controller via multicast and associating with it. You can disable multicast on your controller VLANs (if that will not impact anything that you need elsewhere in your network) or you can disable multicast on your Aruba controllers using the following:

adp discovery disable
adp igmp-join disable
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎07-10-2009

Re: AP105 not getting IP and not showing in the controller



I've already tried to reach this IP to discover if is a rouge aruba-master but there is no host in my network with this IP. Also this IP is not on de dhcpd.conf of dhcp server.




My AP60 and AP61 boot, pick the IP from DHCP server and then use ADP to reach aruba because is on the same VLAN. There is no such option 43 configured. Also aruba-master is no a hostname on our network.

According to dhcpd logs this device is not sending dhcp requests.

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎07-10-2009

Re: AP105 not getting IP and not showing in the controller


If your network is configured to support multicast and you have another Aruba controller on the network that is configured to support multicast, then it is likely that your AP is finding that controller via multicast and associating with it. You can disable multicast on your controller VLANs (if that will not impact anything that you need elsewhere in your network) or you can disable multicast on your Aruba controllers using the following:

adp discovery disable
adp igmp-join disable




Thanks but we have only one controller.
Contributor I
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-09-2007

Re: Find Out

If you open a command prompt on your PC and ping aruba-master, does it resolve to anything? If not, try pinging aruba-master.{domain_name_AP_receives} and see if it resolves to anything. Finally, did you purchase the AP-105 new? If not or if you feel that the reseller may have had it up and running in their network or in their test lab, then you may want to purge the configuration on it so that it is set back to factory defaults and works as expected.
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: