Access Points

Occasional Contributor II

AP175 bridge distance and speed

We have 2 3400 controllers and would like to bridge 2 buildings that are about 300 yards away from each other. Has anyone used the AP175's in this type of setup? Will this work and what kind of speed should I expect between the 2 buildings?

I am pretty new to the Aruba controllers and don't have the expertise to know what to expect. I have a call in to our Aruba reseller and am waiting for some info, I just figured I'd throw out this question (to the experts) to see if there is a better method of connecting the 2 buildings. There is a road running between the buildings, so trenching fiber would be cost ineffective.

Any opinions on the best way to connect?

Thanks in advance.
ACMP - Feb 2014
MVP

Re: AP175 bridge distance and speed

Are the two controllers each configured as separate masters, or is one a master and one a local? Should I take it that each of the two buildings have a 3400?
Jerrod Howard
Sr. Techical Marketing Engineer

Both controllers are in our main building set up as a master and local with our AP's split between the two. The new building will not have a 3400, we just need to provide network to a large group of people using mostly asp apps. We currently have about 44 AP's in 2 groups, 1 group is assigned to the master controller, the other assigned to the local controller. If a controller goes down, the AP's move over to the active one.

Currently there is nothing in the new building, we are in a hospital setting and are moving our non-clinical staff out of the hospital to the building across the street and are trying to leverage our Aruba controllers instead of leasing a high-cost circuit.

ACMP - Feb 2014
Aruba

You could leverage AP175 APs for this application , or you could also leverage AP-92's.