Access Points

Reply
MVP
Posts: 933
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

IAP with corrupt image?

Hi All,

I've got an instant 105 that wont get a config, wont boot and wont reset. Anyone know the solution to this one?

Can't call TAC till tomorrow morning and was hoping to get this resolved tonight...

To me it looks like the AP image is corrupt. Is it possible (or even required in this instance) to upload a new good image?:confused:

APBoot 1.2.4.4 (build 26618)
Built: 2011-01-07 at 13:42:04

Model: AP-10x
CPU: AR7161 revision: A2
Clock: 680 MHz, DDR clock: 340 MHz, Bus clock: 170 MHz
DRAM: 128 MB
POST1: passed
Copy: done
Flash: 16 MB
PCI: scanning bus 0 ...
dev fn venID devID class rev MBAR0 MBAR1 MBAR2 MBAR3
00 00 168c 0029 00002 01 10000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
01 00 168c 0029 00002 01 10010000 00000000 00000000 00000000
Net: eth0
Radio: ar922x#0, ar922x#1

Hit to stop autoboot: 0
Booting OS partition 0
Checking image @ 0xbf100000
Invalid image format version: 0xffffffff
Checking image @ 0xbf800000

Image is signed; verifying checksum... failed! 0x36da16c3
eth0 up: 100 Mb/s full duplex
DHCP broadcast 1
DHCP IP address: 172.16.172.102
DHCP subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
DHCP def gateway: 172.16.172.1
DHCP DNS server: 172.16.172.1
DHCP DNS domain:
ADP multicast 1
ADP broadcast 1
ADP multicast 2
ADP broadcast 2
ADP multicast 3

Retry count exceeded
DNS request 1 for aruba-master. to 172.16.172.1
T Using eth0 device
TFTP from server 81.200.64.50; our IP address is 172.16.172.102; sending through
gateway 172.16.172.1
Filename 'mips32.ari'.
Load address: 0x2000000
Loading: T T T T T T T T T T
Retry count exceeded; starting again
eth0 up: 100 Mb/s full duplex
Cheers
James

-------------------------------------------------------
-------------------@whereisjrw-------------------
------------------------blog-------------------------
ACCX #540 | ACMX #353 | ACDX #216
-----------Mobility First Expert #11----------
-------------------------------------------------------

If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
MVP
Posts: 933
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Solution

Download the instant AP image from support.arubanetworks.com
Start a TFTP server on your PC
Make sure that the TFTP server root is where your image file is
Boot the AP with a serial cable attached
CTRL + C to break to the prompt if necessary

Now use this command to upgrade the AP image.

upgrade os :

E.g.
upgrade os 192.168.0.1:ArubaInstant_Orion_5.0.3.0-1.1.0.0_29082

Type reset to reboot the AP. You should now see Image is signed; verifying checksum... passed instead of Image is signed; verifying checksum... failed! 0x36da16c3

NOTE: Only do this if you see Image is signed; verifying checksum... failed! 0x36da16c3 also there may be other ways to fix this that I'm not aware of!

James
Cheers
James

-------------------------------------------------------
-------------------@whereisjrw-------------------
------------------------blog-------------------------
ACCX #540 | ACMX #353 | ACDX #216
-----------Mobility First Expert #11----------
-------------------------------------------------------

If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,582
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP with corrupt image?

I would do a "clearos" at the apboot> prompt.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 933
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: IAP with corrupt image?

Cool. Thanks for the tip. Is there a list of apboot> commands documented (including syntax) that i can have?
Cheers
James

-------------------------------------------------------
-------------------@whereisjrw-------------------
------------------------blog-------------------------
ACCX #540 | ACMX #353 | ACDX #216
-----------Mobility First Expert #11----------
-------------------------------------------------------

If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,582
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP with corrupt image?

The list here: http://airheads.arubanetworks.com/vBulletin/showthread.php?t=1396 is probably the best one.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: