Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-08-2016

2 IAP won`t connect to a running system

Hello,

i`m new here and my english is not so good, but i will try to explain my situation.

We have an Aruba Wifi UP and runnig with Clearpass and Airwave.

Authentication via AD, first without certificate. In the future i will install cartificate too.

We use IAP 215 from Aruba. 25 AP are up and running but we have 2 AP they don`t want connect to the other AP or Controller.

 

Someone have an idea how can connect them manually ? Maybe someone can tell me some backgrounds why the 2 AP can`t connect to the other ?

 

I hope you understand what i want:-)

Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
regards Salvatore

 

MVP
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎04-02-2013

Re: 2 IAP won`t connect to a running system

Hi Salva,

 

Are you using IAP's managed from the Virtual controller, right?

 

are those 2 AP's in the same VLAN? Can you see if those AP's have received an IP address? 

 

Regards

Borja

Regards,
Borja
ACMX #567 //ACCP//CWNA
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,811
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: 2 IAP won`t connect to a running system


Salva2376 wrote:

Hello,

i`m new here and my english is not so good, but i will try to explain my situation.

We have an Aruba Wifi UP and runnig with Clearpass and Airwave.

Authentication via AD, first without certificate. In the future i will install cartificate too.

We use IAP 215 from Aruba. 25 AP are up and running but we have 2 AP they don`t want connect to the other AP or Controller.

 

Someone have an idea how can connect them manually ? Maybe someone can tell me some backgrounds why the 2 AP can`t connect to the other ?

 

I hope you understand what i want:-)

Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
Spoiler
regards Salvatore

 


Salvatore,

 

What model are the two new access points?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-08-2016

Re: 2 IAP won`t connect to a running system

Hi,

 

my first problem is now resolved. The ports were in different VLANS.

Now my next Problem is, the 2 new IAP don`t join the exists Wifi ?? Why ??

When i connect the 2 IAP to the switch port, my whole wifi connection will be interrupted.

and i don`t have any connection to the VC.

When i disconnect the 2 new IAP, my Wifi and all AP are UP und runnfig fine.

 

I don`t know what happen in the background.

regards

Salvatore

MVP
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎04-02-2013

Re: 2 IAP won`t connect to a running system

As Colin said, which model are the IAP's that are working and the 2 AP's you are connecting to the network?

 

REgards

Borja

Regards,
Borja
ACMX #567 //ACCP//CWNA
MVP
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎12-01-2010

Re: 2 IAP won`t connect to a running system

If the 2 new iAP are the same model as the other 25, then they should be able to joing the cluster and get firmware and configuration from the VC.

If they're different models, you'll need to make sure that they can access Airwave or Cloud management to get the same version of code in their proper family to match the VC before they will be able to get their configuration.

Some more detail of your LAN configuration and of the test process you're following would help us a great deal.

 

--Matthew

if I've helped, please give kudos
if I've provided a solution, please mark the solution so others can find it
Contributor I
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-08-2016

Re: 2 IAP won`t connect to a running system

Hello,

 

thx for your help. Now everything works fine. The 2 new IAP have automatically connected. The problem was, that i changed the VLAN from these 2 Ports while the cable stuck.

 

thx.

Salva

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: