Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-24-2010

APs disappearing from the master VC

I have a eleven IAP-105s and two IAP-144 APs at a remote site running Version 6.2.1.0-3.3.0.1 of ArubaOS. Occasionally all the APs disappear from the master. We have figured out that we can power off one of the APs (#8) and the missing APs will then re-connect to the master. We can then power on #8 AP and it will work for awhile before this happens again. My theory is that there is a network cable problem and #8 becomes the master even though we can not connect to it. Here are the results of the "show election statistics" command.  The last spoof mac: 24:de:c6:c3:de:4b is the mac of the #8 AP.

 

master_beacon : sent=189074 rcvd=3773356
hierarchy_beacon: sent=0 rcvd=0
hierarchy_ack : sent=0 rcvd=0
beacon_req : sent=8 rcvd=48
beacon_resp : sent=48 rcvd=0

election wait : 21
timer slow : 0
master high cpu : 0
ap cpu usage : 7
Slave->Pot-Master : 1 time
Pot-master->Master: 1 time
Pot-master->Slave : 0 time

spoof arp rcvd: 1894
last spoof mac: 24:de:c6:c3:de:4b

Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: APs disappearing from the master VC

Have you tried replacing #8 to see if the problem stays at that location or follows the ap? Also, have you considered a code upgrade?
Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
Aruba
Posts: 1,284
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: APs disappearing from the master VC

Check also to make sure that AP #8 is not taking the VC ip as its ip address from dhcp.


If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-24-2010

Re: APs disappearing from the master VC

We have replaced the AP #8 once and had the cable checked but the problem continued. I believe that the cable is bad except there are no CRC errors in the switch logs. Maybe it is a heat or some other environment problem becuse the the HP switch has event logs that indicate that the device is going offline. The odd thing is that it only has this problem occasionally. This morning it started at 6:07 AM. When the problem occurs there is a message in the log about excessive broadcast and then port starts to offline and bak on line. This behaviour continues until we power it off for a while.

 

 

I 08/20/14 06:07:01 ports: port 21 is now off-line
I 08/20/14 06:07:03 ports: port 21 is Blocked by LACP
I 08/20/14 06:07:06 ports: port 21 is now on-line
W 08/20/14 06:07:23 FFI: port 21-Excessive Broadcasts. See help.
I 08/20/14 06:07:28 ports: port 21 is now off-line
I 08/20/14 06:07:30 ports: port 21 is Blocked by LACP
I 08/20/14 06:07:33 ports: port 21 is now on-line
I 08/20/14 06:08:31 ports: port 21 is now off-line
I 08/20/14 06:08:35 ports: port 21 is Blocked by LACP
I 08/20/14 06:08:38 ports: port 21 is now on-line
I 08/20/14 06:08:46 ports: port 21 is now off-line
I 08/20/14 06:08:48 ports: port 21 is Blocked by LACP
I 08/20/14 06:08:51 ports: port 21 is now on-line
W 08/20/14 06:09:08 FFI: port 21-Excessive Broadcasts. See help.
I 08/20/14 06:13:59 ports: port 21 is now off-line
I 08/20/14 06:14:01 ports: port 21 is Blocked by LACP
I 08/20/14 06:14:04 ports: port 21 is now on-line

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: