Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎06-17-2009

All Aruba Instant APs constant rebooting

[ Edited ]

We have a school district where one location, a small charter school, that only has 4 Instant APs is experiencing constant reboots.

 

When we review the logs we see several puzzling errors:

 

  • Cannot find AP 192.168.18.246 (it's own IP address)
  • Reboot reason: Master transitioning to local

 

They are all on a flat network with no VLANs.

 

This has been happening since we installed them and Ive been working with TAC for aout 2 weeks with no reolsution.

 

Anybody experienceing this?

 

 

EDDIE FORERO | @HeyEddie
MVP
Posts: 706
Registered: ‎12-01-2010

Re: All Aruba Instant APs constant rebooting

The ususal questions:

What model of AP?

What version of code?

 

Several version ago, we had a similar symptom - 6.1.2.3-2.0.0.2 or maybe one earlier - the iAP ARP protocol and our network switch vendor (Adtran) ARP protocol interpretations were subtly different.  The result was that each AP would see the others, then as ARP table entries aged, they would loose "sight " of one another.

 

We had to shut them all down, then bring one up, upgrade the code and power it back off and do the next. Once they were all on the next rev (an engineering build candidate released early for our problem) we brought them up and the ARP issue was fixed.

 

 

--Matthew

if I've helped, please give kudos
if I've provided a solution, please mark the solution so others can find it
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎06-17-2009

Re: All Aruba Instant APs constant rebooting

[ Edited ]

AP-104s and one AP-105

 

3.2 - latest build from support site (6.2.0.0-3.2.0.1_36986)

 

All connected to an S2500

EDDIE FORERO | @HeyEddie
MVP
Posts: 2,925
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: All Aruba Instant APs constant rebooting

Yep i vote for that upgrade it... you will have to do it via console via TFPT...

 

Here is the process

 

Download the instant AP image from support.arubanetworks.com
Start a TFTP server on your PC
Make sure that the TFTP server root is where your image file is
Boot the AP with a serial cable attached
break to the prompt if necessary

Now use this command to upgrade the AP image.

upgrade os <your machines IP>:<AP image name>

E.g.
upgrade os 192.168.0.1:ArubaInstant_Orion_5.0.3.0-1.1.0.0_29082

Type reset to reboot the AP. You should now see Image is signed; verifying checksum... passed instead of Image is signed; verifying checksum... failed! 0x36da16c3
----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎06-17-2009

Re: All Aruba Instant APs constant rebooting

We're on the latest rev.

EDDIE FORERO | @HeyEddie
MVP
Posts: 2,925
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: All Aruba Instant APs constant rebooting

[ Edited ]

 

6.2.0.0-3.2.0.1   36986?

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎06-17-2009

Re: All Aruba Instant APs constant rebooting

[ Edited ]

Yep. See below.

 Voila_Capture23.png

EDDIE FORERO | @HeyEddie
MVP
Posts: 2,925
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: All Aruba Instant APs constant rebooting

[ Edited ]

yeah sorry i just saw it sorry for not reading...

 

go to the console of the instant AP

 

do

clear os

purgeenv

saveenv

reset

That will bring it to the firmware that it came from the factory... 

 

Try this with one of hte IAP of course turn the others off....

if it works do the same with the others.. and then start including them to the cluster one by one..

 

You will loose your config though... but well instants are really fast to configure..  might be a firmware error i mean that it didnt upgrade correctly

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎06-17-2009

Re: All Aruba Instant APs constant rebooting

I have even placed them in there own Management VLAN and tagged the clients for the school VLAN and they still reboot.

EDDIE FORERO | @HeyEddie
MVP
Posts: 2,925
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: All Aruba Instant APs constant rebooting

you did clear os?

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: