Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-23-2016

Aruba AP-135 - how to configure

Hello,

 

I just received 2 Aruba AP-135 used devices. I want to use those for home use, to have wifi on my 2 floors. I wanted to put one AP on every floor.

I received the APs yesterday and connected both to the network after restoring them to factory settings. Power led and ENET0 began to blink and didn't stop.

It seems that I can't connect directly to the AP to make the necesary settings.

After reseaching, it seems that there are 2 types of Aruba AP-135: one instant, that can be configured directly by web interface, and another type that can be configured using a controller.

In this case what can I do? Is there any chance to be able to setup the 2 APs for inhouse using? I do not want to buy a controller. Is there a software controller that I could use to make the setup?

I can't find any informations about this topic.

Thank you!

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,561
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Aruba AP-135 - how to configure

AP-135s can only be used with a controller.  It cannot be used as a standalone AP.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,180
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Aruba AP-135 - how to configure

You would need to acquire a controller or switch them out for IAPs.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-23-2016

Re: Aruba AP-135 - how to configure

Hmm, that sux.

And which is the cheapest controller on the market? If I setup the APs using a controller, can I remove the controller from the network? Or I have to have it constantly in the network?

Thank you!

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,561
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Aruba AP-135 - how to configure

The controller needs to be there constantly for an AP-135 to work.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-23-2016

Re: Aruba AP-135 - how to configure

Ok. Could you, pleasw, recommend me the cheapest controller? Maybe I will find a second hand one, so that I will be able to use the APs.

Thank you!

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-23-2016

Re: Aruba AP-135 - how to configure

I found on ebay 2 low-cost Aruba controllers. First is this one: Aruba Networks 800 LAN Wireless Mobility Controller 8-Ports Model: 800-US.

Second is this one: Aruba Networks 2400 Mobility Controller

 

Could you, please, tell me if it's ok for what I need?

 

The initial setup of the controller and the APs has to be made by someone with experience in the networking area? Or I will be able to do it myself? How complicated it is? I am a programmer, but have no experience in networking.

 

Thank you!

MVP
Posts: 1,280
Registered: ‎11-07-2008

Re: Aruba AP-135 - how to configure

Those are very old and won't run anything past AOS 5.0 (we are now starting 8.0). I would avoid as there's little to nothing to setup that would be relevant in the modern OS/cofnig pages now.

Jerrod Howard
Sr. Techical Marketing Engineer
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-02-2015

Re: Aruba AP-135 - how to configure

A 620 or 650 Will do
Cheers,
Frank
Life off the wire
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-02-2015

Re: Aruba AP-135 - how to configure

But you are limited to 6.4.x versions. They provide PoE as well
Cheers,
Frank
Life off the wire
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: