Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
MVP
Posts: 1,399
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Aruba Activate not converting IAP to RAP? Am I missing something.

Good day,

 

First time testing out the IAP to RAP conversion on Activate to associate an IAP to a controller.

 

It seems obviously simple. 

1. Create a folder you want to place the IAPs you want converted into RAPs

folder-rule.JPG

2. Create a rule for that folder to convert IAPs to RAPs, my rule is below. 

rule.JPG

 

Move the AP to the folder you created (which should inherit the rule you created).

 

Connect IAP (in this case IAP-115-RW, firmware 4.0+) to the internet, boot it up and wait.

 

Nothing happens. It does not convert to RAP  (even though activate now says it is provisioned and it is a RAP).

 

From console, once it boots, I get user/pass which is a giveaway it is not a RAP. I cannot ping my controller IP right away but after 1 or 2 min I CAN ping it.

 

Am I missing something here? 

 

Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
Guru Elite
Posts: 7,864
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Aruba Activate not converting IAP to RAP? Am I missing something.

Did you do a hard reset?


Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
MVP
Posts: 4,020
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Aruba Activate not converting IAP to RAP? Am I missing something.

In the Activate logs it should tell you if it was able to reach the activate cloud server?

 

Also is the mac address in the rap whitelist on the controller ?

 

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 1,399
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Aruba Activate not converting IAP to RAP? Am I missing something.

Hard reset was done
RAP was white listed on the controller.
What activate logs? :) where do you see those?
Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
Guru Elite
Posts: 7,864
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Aruba Activate not converting IAP to RAP? Am I missing something.

show activate status

 


Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
MVP
Posts: 1,399
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Aruba Activate not converting IAP to RAP? Am I missing something.

I'll give my AP another shot

Pasquale Monardo
Conseiller Principal Solution R?seaux, Op?ration | Senior Network Solutions Consultant, Operation
[cid:image001.png@01CFC6AA.4AC88930]

T 514 385-4448 #204 DATAVALET.COM

5275, chemin Queen-Mary, Montr?al (Qu?bec) H3W 1Y3 Canada

CE COURRIEL AINSI QUE CES DOCUMENTS JOINTS peuvent contenir des renseignements confidentiels et privil?gi?s. Si vous n'?tes pas le destinataire d?sign?, veuillez nous en informer imm?diatement et effacer toute copie. Merci. THIS EMAIL AND THE DOCUMENTS ATTACHED may contain privileged or confidential information. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient, please notify the sender immediately and delete the original message. Thank you.
Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
MVP
Posts: 1,399
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Aruba Activate not converting IAP to RAP? Am I missing something.

[ Edited ]

so got it hooked up and what I see now from 'show activate status' is success with an Airwave key. Odd because I have not told it to go to an Airwave server but to convert to a RAP and go to a particular controller IP.

On Activate I see the following:
Untitled.png

I see success but there was no success. Never came on up on the controller

I also see it trying to go back to a previous VC on the 184 IP. Why? I don't know.

It is empty, no config, brand new.

 

My rule on activate has not changed.

I then decided to downgrade the IAP to 3.4.0.3 because my controller is on the 6.1 train. The IAP I am ussing now is a 105.

I now see in the logs the following:

 

Untitled.png

 

Success = no success in my case. The only AP in my folder and rule is my 105 why another error shows up with 4.1 IAP-SUB I have no clue...

Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-25-2015

Re: Aruba Activate not converting IAP to RAP? Am I missing something.

[ Edited ]

I realize this is an old thread, but I recently had an issue with this, so I wanted to pass along some knowledge
The following CLI commands should help narrow down the cause. 

 

show log convert

show upgrade info

 

I would also stress that you double check that you have whitelisted and you have the available licensing. ( I'm sure you've checked both of these many times)

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: