Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-25-2013

Can IAP coexist with CAP/RAP on the same L2

hi guys,

 

just was wondering if I can inject some IAPs into the existent network, which already has an amc3200  and a bunch of AP-93s configured as RAPs. All that is supposed to be within the same vlan/broadcast domain.

 

what would be the consequences ? can these two technologies remain as two separate entities?

 

thanks.

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,366
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Can IAP coexist with CAP/RAP on the same L2

Yes.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-25-2013

Re: Can IAP coexist with CAP/RAP on the same L2

Much appreciated for the answer.

 

I was afraid that IAPs will discover the controller and will join it and eventually will get converted to RAPs.

Aruba
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: Can IAP coexist with CAP/RAP on the same L2

If they are broadcasting different ssids then that should be fine, though the controller will see them as rogues.


If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-25-2013

Re: Can IAP coexist with CAP/RAP on the same L2

what would be the issue with the same SSID, since I'm planning to have exactly that ?

MVP
Posts: 703
Registered: ‎12-01-2010

Re: Can IAP coexist with CAP/RAP on the same L2

No issue unless you're automatically attempting to prevent rogues.

 

The WIPS functions from either set of access points will try to block use of the other if you've got it turned on.

If not, you'll just get warnings from each that the other may be a rogue.

--Matthew

if I've helped, please give kudos
if I've provided a solution, please mark the solution so others can find it
Aruba
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: Can IAP coexist with CAP/RAP on the same L2

Might be issues with clients roaming between the two systems.  Will be somewhat worse for dot1x or captive portal users.

 

At least make them use the same subnet and dhcp server so there's no chance of duplicate ips etc.


If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-25-2013

Re: Can IAP coexist with CAP/RAP on the same L2

[ Edited ]

no dot1x and the captive portal is going to be external, and on top of that the subnet for the users is going to be the same with the same DHCP, so I guess I should be fine. In regards of rogue APs detection, I guess I can define which APs are not rogue so I don't get the alarms.

 

thanks guys for good advise.

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Can IAP coexist with CAP/RAP on the same L2

You can change Rogue status on the Controller but you cannot on the IAP.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: