Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎08-06-2014

Cisco LACP LAG with Aruba AP

Hi,

 

I have Aruba IAP-255 access points. I'd like to have both ethernet ports on the AP available in a LAG, should one port go down, the other will take over.


I have Cisco 3750 switches that these Aruba AP's are connected too.

 

Is there any settings on the IAP's that I need to configure or change for the above to work?

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,180
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Cisco LACP LAG with Aruba AP

Just make sure the Cisco end is set to passive.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎08-06-2014

Re: Cisco LACP LAG with Aruba AP

[ Edited ]

Currently the Cisco switch is set to "mode active', so we are using LACP.

 

On the Cisco switch, I can see the port channel is up. If I look at the Aruba AP, I can see that it has joined the LAG.

 

Why would the Cisco end need to be passive?

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,180
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Cisco LACP LAG with Aruba AP

I'm sorry, I meant active. There should be no other configuration.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎08-06-2014

Re: Cisco LACP LAG with Aruba AP

Ok. When I shut one of the ports to test this, the AP still reboots. Is that expected?

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,180
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Cisco LACP LAG with Aruba AP

If you shut down the port providing power, then yes. The AP only has one PD circuit and can only accept power on one port at a time.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎08-06-2014

Re: Cisco LACP LAG with Aruba AP

This works fine on my test switch with a spare AP.


However on the production switch (same model), I get MAC flapping on the two ports connected to the AP.


Any idea why?

MVP
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎11-30-2011

Re: Cisco LACP LAG with Aruba AP

im sure you checked, but is the port config on the switches the same? using same firmware?

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎08-06-2014

Re: Cisco LACP LAG with Aruba AP

There are some QoS settings on the production switch that are not on the test switch. IOS versions are the same.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-09-2015

Re: Cisco LACP LAG with Aruba AP

 MAC flap happens until the port-channel comes up.

 

I would add one line of config to the port-channel to ensure the individual channel members don't go down when the port-channel doesn't negotiate. It's common for Cisco switches to down ports where no LACP neighbor is detected. "no port-channel standalone-disable" applied to the port-channel resolves this. The member will come up but as an individual link, which allows the AP to connect to the network and fetch its config.

 

Once the AP has its config it will try to negotiate LACP. As stated you have to use channel-group mode active, other modes will not work.

 

http://www.djerk.nl/wordpress/2015/cisco-lacp-config-for-aruba-ap

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: