Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-11-2012

Client timeout from being displayed in the Instant VC management interface

Hi,

 

I have a large instant system, generally servicing about 700+ clients, machine auth is used to connect.

 

If I look at the VC to see curent status etc I can see clients connected to AP's that i know are not actually connected, the laptops are shut down but yet they still show in the interface, is this normal behaviour? how long till the machines disapear from the interface?

 

It makes trouble shooting etc quite difficult.

 

Ver 6.2.1.0-3.3.0.2_38733

 

Cheers

 

Dave

 

Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: Client timeout from being displayed in the Instant VC management interface

A user will remain there until it is timed out from the table. How long are you seeing this post disconnect?

Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
Contributor II
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-11-2012

Re: Client timeout from being displayed in the Instant VC management interface

I'm not exactly sure, i would say quite a long time, i am still seeing laptops that were probably last used about 3 oclock in the interface. Is there a timeout setting you can change?

 

Dave

Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: Client timeout from being displayed in the Instant VC management interface

Try the command ?show aaa timers? from an SSH session to the VC
Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
Contributor II
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-11-2012

Re: Client timeout from being displayed in the Instant VC management interface

Sho AAA doesn't exist on the SSH VC cli ?

 

 

MVP
Posts: 1,418
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Client timeout from being displayed in the Instant VC management interface

[ Edited ]

If you have access to the VC gui, edit your network and click on "Show Advanced Options" on the bottom left then look for "inactivity timeout", what is that value set to, I believe default is 1000.

 

Capture.PNG

Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
Contributor II
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-11-2012

Re: Client timeout from being displayed in the Instant VC management interface

Hi Pasquale,

 

I had discounted this as the clients seemed to be staying alive much longer than 1000 seconds (16 mins) I changed this down to a lower figure and i "think" it is better but i need to monitor the system to be sure. Maybe somwhow the clients were sending a keep alive during the 16 minutes.

 

Dave

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: