Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-22-2013

How to add a static route on IAPs ?

Hello,

 

I need to add a static route on a RAP3 running 6.4.0.2 OS version.

There's no VPN in this configuration.  

Just need o send a traffic to a certain network and this traffic should not go to the IAP default gateway.

 

I could not find it in GUI neighter CLI.

 

Is there a way to do this ?

 

Thank you 

Guru Elite
Posts: 7,853
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: How to add a static route on IAPs ?

(config)#routing-profile
(Routing-profile)# route <dest> <mask> <next-hop>

 


Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,002
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: How to add a static route on IAPs ?

Jonas,

 

Is this traffic coming from a user on the IAP?

 

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Validated Reference Design Guides : http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/tkb-p/Aruba-VRDs
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-22-2013

Re: How to add a static route on IAPs ?

Yes it is.

is coming from a user connect on the wifi of the IAP.

 

Please take a look at the pic attached.

The traffic is comming from a user at the netwok 192.168.1.0/24 ( created at the IAP )

This user needs to reach the networks 192.168.160.0/24 with is routed by "Router 1" as shown in the diagram.

 

THanks for your help

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,002
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: How to add a static route on IAPs ?

Jonas,

 

The IAP is not designed to be a router, but a method for clients to access the network.  If the client uses DHCP, can you just make the default route the router that you want to handle the routing?

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Validated Reference Design Guides : http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/tkb-p/Aruba-VRDs
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-22-2013

Re: How to add a static route on IAPs ?

Yeah. thats what I was afraid :-(

Change the gw of the netwok is an option that we were trying to avoid, cause a lot of things has to be changed.

 

So add static route is not supported, right ?

 

Aruba Employee
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎07-14-2013

Re: How to add a static route on IAPs ?

Could I understand how the IP address of the client is being assigned?  Is it assigned by the IAP or an external DHCP server?

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-22-2013

Re: How to add a static route on IAPs ?

Hi Yan,

 

thanks for your reply.

The IP is been assigned by a dhcp scope created at the IAP.

 

 

Jonas

 

Aruba Employee
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎07-14-2013

Re: How to add a static route on IAPs ?

If that is the case, have you tried to change the DHCP scope on the IAP to give the clients a different default gateway than the IAP itself?
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-22-2013

Re: How to add a static route on IAPs ?

No, I did not. Cause the internet acces is given by the IAP default router.

So I thought it would be easier if I could creat a static route at the IAP

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: