Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-31-2013

IAP-92 in the same network, i want do split two VC

Hi,

    I have two IAP-92 in the same network 192.168.1.0/24, I want to be separated into two VC. I disable auto join option, but IAP-02 still join IAP-01.What should i do? thank you.

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Re: IAP-92 in the same network, i want do split two VC

Hi macgyver7059,

If your IAPs are in the same network segment you can't have two VC. The only thing you can do to have 2 separate VC is to deploy the IAPs on different VLAN. In this way the IAPs will not see each other.

 

 

 


[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos]

 

------------------------------------------------------------
Massimo Gallina
Telecommunications engineer - ACMP2013
Aruba
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: IAP-92 in the same network, i want do split two VC

On IAP-01, make sure there is not an entry in there for 02 in the allowed-ap list.  Check again you have auto-join disabled.

 

On IAP-02, clear the configuration and then log in and reconfigure with different VC address.

 

That should work, but as m.gallina said, it is better to have them on different subnets.

 

 


If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: IAP-92 in the same network, i want do split two VC

You can convert them to standalone mode as well :)

 

Many regards, 

Marek Krauze

ACMX #295

Marek Krauze, CWNE# 174, ACMX #295, ACDX #356
Something cool, helpful or interesting in my post - click the Kudos Star.
Helped to solve your problem - Click Accept as Solution
Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: IAP-92 in the same network, i want do split two VC

What is the use case for this?  If you want the concept of "AP Groups", we will be able to help soon

Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-31-2013

Re: IAP-92 in the same network, i want do split two VC

Hi SethFiemonti:

 

Beacuse my customer will 4 floor IAP & 1 floor IAP connect the same L2 switch device, but hope IAP can be different user control and 1 floor user can't see 4 floor broadcast SSID and switch can't use vlan.

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: IAP-92 in the same network, i want do split two VC

In current IAP SW you cannot do this.     The only workaround is to make the 1 IAP a "Standalone" IAP.   As a Standalone it will not attempt to join another cluster and you can manage it separately.  Note, no other IAPs will be able to join the Standalone IAP either.

 

As Seth mentioned we do have a feature coming in the next Major release that will allow you to do what you need but that is 4 - 8 weeks out roughly.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: