Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎10-04-2012

IAP MTU discovery

hello Airheads,

i was wondering do Aruba Instants do mtu discovery on ethernet port?

if not can can you change the mtu size?

cheers

pete

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,995
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP MTU discovery

Between the IAP and what device?


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor II
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎10-04-2012

Re: IAP MTU discovery

does it matter

New Member
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎03-30-2015

Re: IAP MTU discovery

do you mean tcp path MTU?


#AirheadsMobile
Contributor II
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎10-04-2012

Re: IAP MTU discovery

err.. ok let's say i do.

can it ?

cheers

pete

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,995
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP MTU discovery

It does matter. Controller based APs communicate with access points across routers, so there is an MRI that needs to be negotiated. iAPs only communicate with APs on their own subnet and no router is involved. So, again, between which two devices are you talking about?


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor II
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎10-04-2012

Re: IAP MTU discovery

thanks Colin,

i think what i am after is whether you can change the mtu on a vlan interface as you can on an Aruba controller vlan interface.

Recently we had an issue whereby i had to reduce the mtu on an Aruba contoller interface (from 1500 to 1490) in order to overcome a fragmentation issue. So that was why i was asking about mtu congiuration possibilities on an Instant.

cheers pete

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,995
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP MTU discovery

Most of the user traffic on instant is not routed by the instant AP; the default gateway of clients is typically another router that user traffic is bridged to.  Instant does not even have ip interfaces on that VLANs;  So the question of MTU is relevant to the first hop router and not instant.  On the controller you would have to manipulate MTU because the controller has to send traffic to/from the AP, which crosses routers.  In instant, there is no parallel construct.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: