Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-25-2012

IAP restarts

Hi,

 

We have created two IAP-93 groups under virtual controller and mapped with two subnet’s viz., 192.168.107.x & 192.168.108.x. Both the networks are connected in the same unmanaged layer 2 switch. The problem being faced is (i) when any IAP-93 is turned ON from the 192.168.108.x subnet , it automatically restarts viz., it does not gets stable. We have tried keeping the SSID same for both the groups as well as keeping them different.

 

 I tried to disable the auto-join mode but it gets enabled every time the AP is restarted. It is problematic to have a layer 3 switch in the network at this moment. Both the subnets get access to the internet via an UTM device where both the subnets are configured under one interface as primary and secondary address. We have configured static IP address for all the AP’s in the network.

 

How to make all the AP’s stable under this condition

Guru Elite
Posts: 19,982
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP restarts

If the subnets are in the same layer2 network, they will see each other.....  You probably cannot do this unless you physically separate them.

 

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Validated Reference Design Guides : http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/tkb-p/Aruba-VRDs
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-25-2012

Re: IAP restarts

Thank your Joseph. We will try to seperate the two subnets via two VLAN's.

 

Please guide me under this circumstance, how to centralise athentication, mobility etc via Airwave.

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 19,982
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP restarts


shibnm wrote:

Thank your Joseph. We will try to seperate the two subnets via two VLAN's.

 

Please guide me under this circumstance, how to centralise athentication, mobility etc via Airwave.

 

 


shibnm,

 

Is that the access points need to be on two separate VLANs, or do the users need to be on two separate VLANS?

 

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Validated Reference Design Guides : http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/tkb-p/Aruba-VRDs
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-25-2012

Re: IAP restarts

Thanks Joshep for your prompt response.

 

Actually we need 25 nod of IAP 93 to wi-fi the whole of intended area. Virtual controller can support upto 16 ap's. We have Unmanaged switch and 1 UTM(Fortinet 50C). Our network diagram is attached for your reference.

 

[since you have mentioned to physically seperate the AP's that is why I have mentioned about VLAN(logical way to segment the network)].

 

what is the best possible way to connect all the 25 IAP's and achieve centralised authentication and user mobility.

 

We have also procured Airwave 50 user license.

Guru Elite
Posts: 19,982
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP restarts

[ Edited ]

Are those 25 access points the only Access Points you have, or do you have, or plan to have more?

 

Will they all be at a single location?

 

 

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Validated Reference Design Guides : http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/tkb-p/Aruba-VRDs
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-25-2012

Re: IAP restarts

We are planning to add 5 more. Beyond that I dont think there will be any further requirement. Yes, they all will be placed in the same building. Its a hotel.

Guru Elite
Posts: 19,982
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP restarts

I want to say that you should have a controller, in the deployment, instead of Airwave.  IAP deployments are limited to 16 access points that can "see" each other both on the wired network and wirelessly.   If you had a controller, instead, you could point the IAPs to the controller and convert them to controller-based APs. 

 

 

Please check with your local Aruba team to see what your options are to obtaining a 3200 controller instead of Airwave.

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Validated Reference Design Guides : http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/tkb-p/Aruba-VRDs
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: