Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Aruba
Posts: 1,285
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

IAP225 - 6.4.0.0-4.1.0.1 Dynamic Radius Proxy didn't work

Part question and part comment, but wasted a good few hours yesterday with a deployment of IAP225 on latest code (4.1.0.1) with things not quite working.

 

Turns out that when I had dynamic radius proxy enabled it didn't work.  As soon as I disabled it, things worked fine.

 

Has anyone else come acros this?


If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,572
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP225 - 6.4.0.0-4.1.0.1 Dynamic Radius Proxy didn't work

Michael_Clarke,

 

When you turned it on, did ANYTHING get to the radius server?  Please be specific about did not work...

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Aruba
Posts: 1,285
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: IAP225 - 6.4.0.0-4.1.0.1 Dynamic Radius Proxy didn't work

Yes, everything was getting to the clearpass fine. It was the responses that weren't getting back to the VC. I did a capture on the clearpass and they were being sent.

Routing was fine cause clearpass could ping the VC.

On the ap, the requests were just timing out.

If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,572
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP225 - 6.4.0.0-4.1.0.1 Dynamic Radius Proxy didn't work

Did you do a capture at the AP to see if it was being seen at the APs interface?  Is the IAP on the same VLAN as Clearpass?  Does the IAP have the correct subnet mask?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Aruba
Posts: 1,285
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: IAP225 - 6.4.0.0-4.1.0.1 Dynamic Radius Proxy didn't work

I didn't get a chance to capture at the ap..... Under pressure to get it working.

 

IAP and clearpass on different subnets, but they have the correct mask.

 

Basically, it's like this.

  • In clearpass I changed the network device to be the iap subnet, rather than just the VC Address.
  • Disabled dynamic radius proxy.
  • Boom. Everything working.

 

 


If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎12-12-2013

Re: IAP225 - 6.4.0.0-4.1.0.1 Dynamic Radius Proxy didn't work

When I updated to 4.1.0. 1 I had the same problem. The fix I found was to reboot the current master and let instant elect a new one. Once I did that Radius Proxy started working again.

 

To answer the question asked, in MY case No traffic was getting to the radius server until I rebooted the current master.

 

Alex

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: