Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-07-2011

Maximum Capacity Reached?

So I'm getting the alert that on several AP's (IAP-225's running firmware 6.3.1.8) in my cluster that the maximum capactiy has been reached. But I've only got between 8 and 12 clients associated to those AP's/SSID. I double checked and the max capacity on the SSID is the default of 64. Anybody have an idea why I'd be getting that message with so few clients connected?

 

I've upped the limit to 200, just to see if it would help. So far it seems to be, at least I've stopped getting that message.

 

I've heard from a couple teachers that the students have the been on and off the wireless all morning and when one gets booted, another can connect. That makes sense if we were actually hitting the limit, but we're nowhere near it!

 

Anybody have any advice?

 

Thanks

Bryan

Bryan Murphy -- Network Admin
Wellsboro Area School District
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,585
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Maximum Capacity Reached?

Screenshot?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-07-2011

Re: Maximum Capacity Reached?

Since I've changed the limit to 200, I've not seen it again. I've set it back to 64 to see if it shows up again. I didn't think to take a screen shot of it while it was happening.

 

Bryan

Bryan Murphy -- Network Admin
Wellsboro Area School District
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-07-2011

Re: Maximum Capacity Reached?

OK, so after setting the limit back down to 64, I was able to catch a couple of times it's happened. The Commons is the cafeteria and I've seen that one hit the 64 limit before, but when that happened, the virtual controller reported 64 clients connected.

 

Room 133's AP is saying only 6 clients are connected, but there's a ton of "max clients" messages.

 

Bryan

Bryan Murphy -- Network Admin
Wellsboro Area School District
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,585
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Maximum Capacity Reached?

What is the transmit power on that access point? Do you have laptop carts or mobile carts that could cause that number to shoot up?


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-07-2011

Re: Maximum Capacity Reached?

How do I get that for a particular AP in an instant cluster? The transmit levels for the cluster are set from 12 min to 15 max through the RF/ARM settings.

Bryan Murphy -- Network Admin
Wellsboro Area School District
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-07-2011

Re: Maximum Capacity Reached?

And the answer to your other question is we have a 1:1 program that's new this year, so it's possible (espeically in the Commons) that there could be a spike above 64 clients. I'm not sure about having more clients in room 133 and it's a few rooms away from the Commons, so I don't think it would be seeing spill-over.

 

Bryan

Bryan Murphy -- Network Admin
Wellsboro Area School District
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: