Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎04-18-2013

RAP-109; lights are on but nobody is home?

I unboxed a couple of new RAP-109's yesterday and tried to set them up using the Instant UI.

However the AP's don't seem to be broadcasting any SSID.

All status lights are displaying the right status and both the 2.4 & 5  wlan lights are constant on but I cannot detect any network when scanning.

I've reset both RAP's and tried different devices for scanning but no luck.

Wondering if anyone can shine some light on this..

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: RAP-109; lights are on but nobody is home?

[ Edited ]

By chance, did you configure it as an Air Monitor or put it into dedicated Spectrum Analysis mode?   If yes to either it will not advertise SSIDs.

 

Did you check the box "Hide SSID"?  Lastly, what band is the SSID set to broadcast on?  By default it will advertise on both.

 

What color are all the LEDs?

Contributor I
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎04-18-2013

Re: RAP-109; lights are on but nobody is home?

Marcus,

 

No, I didn't do anything.

The units are straight out of the box.

Lights are green.

 

Evert.

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: RAP-109; lights are on but nobody is home?

Straight out of the box, at factory default, they should advertise an SSID called "Instant".  On earlier releases of code you need an active link on Eth0 before it advertises. 

 

Please confirm the AP is connected to a switch and the Eth LED is either orange (100mbps) or green (gige).

Contributor I
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎04-18-2013

Re: RAP-109; lights are on but nobody is home?

Thanks, that has fixed it.

Connected eth0 to a router and now it broadcasts the SSID.

They should have printed that in the QuickStart guide though.

Aruba
Posts: 1,279
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: RAP-109; lights are on but nobody is home?

yes, it needs an ip address before you can start.  If you're configuring on your desk and not connected, need to set statically in the boot menu.


If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Contributor I
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎04-18-2013

Re: RAP-109; lights are on but nobody is home?

So an IP-address is all it needs?

Does that mean that plugging it into a router on a network without any outside connectivity will still do the job?

Aruba
Posts: 1,279
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Re: RAP-109; lights are on but nobody is home?

yes, that will work.

 

:smileyhappy:


If my post is helpful please give kudos, or mark as solved if it answers your post.

ACCP, ACMP, ACMX #294
mclarke@arubanetworks.com
Contributor I
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎04-18-2013

Re: RAP-109; lights are on but nobody is home?

Excellent, thanks.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: