Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

RAP-3WN-US with UML 290 4G Modem

Has anyone been able to successfully get a Verizon Pantech UML 290 4G cellular modem to work with a RAP-3WN-US in IAP mode?

 

According to the user guide the UML 290 is the only supported 'Tru Auto Detect" model which means it is plug and play. However, I have not found that to be the case. 

 

The RAP-3WN is currently running the latest Instant code which is 6.1.3.4-3.1.0.2_36584. 

 

The UML 290 modem is at firmware version is L0290VWBB12F.248 which should be current based on the VZ Access Manager utility which was updated recently and had the new firmware. 

 

I checked the KB on the support site and found nothing regarding this and TAC is looking into it. I was hoping someone here had gotten it to work. 

 

Thanks

Michael McNamee
Sr. Network Engineer - SecurEdge Networks
ACMP / ACDX / AWMP

http://www.securedgenetworks.com/secure-edge-networks-blog/
Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: RAP-3WN-US with UML 290 4G Modem

[ Edited ]

The latest  version of IAP SW is 6.2.0.0_3.2.0.0.

 

The UMP 290 works fine on my RAP-3.  It does auto-detect it; however, I found that it took a few minutes to detect the first time.  The RAP-3 then needs to be rebooted to load the driver.

 

You can manually configure the UML290 to run in 3G only mode or 4G only; however, it should not be required.

 

Does your UML290 work correctly when connected to a PC using VZ Access Manager?  Do you have a good signal where you are attempting to bring the modem up?

Regular Contributor I
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎04-11-2011

Re: RAP-3WN-US with UML 290 4G Modem

In the IAP admin page go to maintenance --> firmware tab and click check for update version.  I believe you have the release prior to 4g support.

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: RAP-3WN-US with UML 290 4G Modem

4G support is in the version the OP has.   It just is not the current version as the OP thought.

 

Release notes attached for the OP's version....

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: RAP-3WN-US with UML 290 4G Modem

THe UML 290 modem works on the PC with VZ access manager just fine. I have the current version of VZ access manager and it updated the firmware on teh modem to current version in the post above. 

 

I have 4-5 bars of 4G LTE here in my office so signal is not an issue. 

 

I will try manually updating to latest IAP release and see if that resolves the issue. 

 

TAC suggested adding to the uplink configuration a USB type as pantech-3g and 4G USB type as pantech-lte. I tried that but no go. 

Michael McNamee
Sr. Network Engineer - SecurEdge Networks
ACMP / ACDX / AWMP

http://www.securedgenetworks.com/secure-edge-networks-blog/
Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: RAP-3WN-US with UML 290 4G Modem

Did you insert the UML290 and give it a few minutes?

After giving it a few minutes did you reboot the RAP-3 to load the UML290 drivers?

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: RAP-3WN-US with UML 290 4G Modem

Marcus, 

 

I updated the RAP-3 with the 6.2 code I downloaded from the support site. 

 

After the code upgrade I removed the Ethernet connection and the RAP-3 rebooted. I gave it about 5 minutes and saw the modem trying to initialize and the power and WLAN lights finally came on. However, the WLAN light was amber. I rebooted the RAP-3 again and this time the power and WLAN came up green after 5+ minutes. 

 

The SSID was now broadcasting and I was able to connect to the RAP-3. However, the modem status in the support tab was now showing that the modem was detected but the link was down. 

 

I have rebooted several times and the link is still not coming up. I have tried with the settings that TAC suggested and without. 

 

Any ideas?

Michael McNamee
Sr. Network Engineer - SecurEdge Networks
ACMP / ACDX / AWMP

http://www.securedgenetworks.com/secure-edge-networks-blog/
Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: RAP-3WN-US with UML 290 4G Modem

[ Edited ]

Despite what the Modem status shows under the support tab were you able to connect to the Internet?  Also, what does the LED on the UML290 look like?  It should be Red until it has connectivity then turn flashing Blue.

 

You might try the "Enforce Uplink" setting and set it to 3G/4G.  

 

I will take a look tonight........... I have not used my UML 290 since I upgraded to 6.2.

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: RAP-3WN-US with UML 290 4G Modem

No go on Internet connectivity. I can access the web GUI but not the Internet.

 

The modem provides Internet access if I use it on my laptop with VZ access manager. 

 

Here is what the support tab > AP 3G/4G status shows. 

 

*********************************************************************************************************
1/15/2013 14:23:36 PM Target: SEN-RAP3-01 Command: show cellular status
*********************************************************************************************************

cellular status
---------------
card detect link
---- ------ ----
Present detect-ok Linkdown

USB Modem Information
---------------------
Parameter Value
--------- -----
Manufacturer Pantech,
Product PANTECH
Serial Number
Driver (none)
Vendor ID 106c
Product ID 3718

 

If I leave the RAP alone it reboots itself every so often but I am still not getting an up status on the link. 

Michael McNamee
Sr. Network Engineer - SecurEdge Networks
ACMP / ACDX / AWMP

http://www.securedgenetworks.com/secure-edge-networks-blog/
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: RAP-3WN-US with UML 290 4G Modem

I tried the "enforce uplink" setting to 3G/4G but still no success. 

 

The modem blinks blue 20+ times and then flashes red/purple and shortly after the RAP-3 reboots itself. 

 

Are there any logs that show what would fail? TAC is asking for the modem logs which I have no idea where to go to get them. 

 

I bought this modem knowing it was the only one supoprted by the RAP-3. I have a client who wants to pilot a RAP-3 in a blood mobile for remote services and need to get this working to do the pilot. 

 

Thanks for any assistance. 

Michael McNamee
Sr. Network Engineer - SecurEdge Networks
ACMP / ACDX / AWMP

http://www.securedgenetworks.com/secure-edge-networks-blog/
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: