Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-11-2009

Split IAP Cluster

Hello

 

  I'm thinking on split a IAP cluster, my idea will be to provide a new configuration to the Virtual AP Controller where I will remove the allowed-new-aps an cut out some of the

 

allowed-ap 24:de:c6:c0:10:xx
allowed-ap 24:de:c6:c0:10:xx
allowed-ap 24:de:c6:c0:10:xx
allowed-ap 24:de:c6:c0:10:xx
allowed-ap 24:de:c6:c0:10:xx
allowed-ap 24:de:c6:c0:10:xx
allowed-ap 24:de:c6:c0:10:xx
allowed-ap 24:de:c6:c0:10:xx
allowed-ap 24:de:c6:c0:10:xx

 

Will this work? I will then see two virtual controllers?

 

Regards

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Split IAP Cluster

To have two VCs, each managing member APs, they must be in separate Vlans.  You should be able to simply disconnect one AP from your current group and move it into a defferent Vlan.  It will see that there are no VCs in the new subnet and will elect itself to be the VC.

 

Some users prefer to set the AP they will move back to factory default, using the reset button on the back of the AP, and reconfiguring it with a clean config in the new Vlan.

Contributor II
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-11-2009

Re: Split IAP Cluster

In this situation i will like to keep the APs on the same VLAN, so this will not apply, also I think I missed a point, I should also change the Virtual Controller IP so they won't collyde.

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Split IAP Cluster

You cannot have two VCs managing their own APs in the same Vlan.  Our discovery protocol is L2 so all IAPs within the same Vlan will find the current VC.

 

You can set one AP to run in "Standalone" mode and it will act as a VC for itself only -- it will not be able to manage other IAPs.

 

Can you describe what it is you are trying to achieve?

Contributor II
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-11-2009

Re: Split IAP Cluster

The question it's that I would like to have two IAP cluster on the same network because the costumer it's using a cheap router, and it does not support VLANs.

Because I'm too lazy and would like to avoid a travel to the costumer site I would like to try to split the cluster using the Airwave. The idea its to load on the master a configuration removing half of the IAPs,  removing the autojoin feature and changing the Virtual Controller AP. If all work as supposed I should get the two clusters separated each one with their Virtual Controller IP and IAPs splited between them.

 

Regards

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Split IAP Cluster

That is not supported.

 

With so few APs why do you want to split the cluster within the same network? 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: