Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-27-2015

Standalone or Separate Management VLAN

I have two APs currently; one is the Virtual Controller. They both exist on the same subnet and share a single WPA2 wifi network, but are in two physically separate buildings.

 

There are plans move both APs off the existing network and into totally different unconnected networks (not subnets).

 

The move will be a (still working it out) future date - but... Prior to the move I want to establish two separate networks on the wifi side - one Open (no security) on AP #1, and one WPA2 on AP#2. Neither AP should have the other network listed, so here comes the question: Should I switch one to a different management VLAN? Or convert one (or both) to Standalone mode?

 

Thanks in advance

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,011
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Standalone or Separate Management VLAN

They both need to share a management VLAN if they're going to be part of the same cluster.


Thanks,
Tim

Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-27-2015

Re: Standalone or Separate Management VLAN

[ Edited ]

To be more clear: they are moving to separate networks that do not share VLAN capability. (Different ISPs, nothing in common except the internet in general)

 

Or am I missing something, like do the IAPs use some kind of Outbound  "web-based" VLAN through Arubanetworks.com, where they could still "see" each other?

 

I'm not familiar with the term Cluster as used with APs - perhaps I am thinking of making 2 separate clusters in that case?


cappalli wrote:
They both need to share a management VLAN if they're going to be part of the same cluster.


Thanks,
Tim

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,011
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Standalone or Separate Management VLAN

No. If they do not share a L2 segment, they would be independent of each other. You can either manage the configurations individually or use a management platform like AirWave or Aruba Central.


Thanks,
Tim

Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-27-2015

Re: Standalone or Separate Management VLAN

Thanks - yes, the plan is to manage one of them "on-site"; the other will still be visible from the third building, where I work.

 

In the interim I still need to make two wifi networks that cannot be seen from each other. Can I do that with different management VLANs on each IAP? 

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,011
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Standalone or Separate Management VLAN

You would just create the wireless networks individually on each.


Thanks,
Tim

Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-27-2015

Re: Standalone or Separate Management VLAN

I know i will be able to do this once the IAPs move to separate ISPs, but in the mean time:

 

when I login to the web UI of either IAP using it's IP, I get redirected to the same IAP each time. When I create the new wifi network, it shows up at both IAPs - I can't figure out how to make each IAP have only its "own" network.  Building 1 needs to be "Open" with an SSID of "OPENWIFI", and building 2 needs to be WPA2 with an SSID of "BLDG2WIFI".

 

At the moment, as soon as I make the second network they both show up. Can I make the Virtual Controller for each IAP itself? (As I understand it, convert to "Standalone")

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-27-2015

Re: Standalone or Separate Management VLAN

After staring at this, I decided to make the "offsite" IAP a standalone AP. That leaves the other IAP open as a virtual controller should we stand up any other APs onsite. Trying to manage these with separate VLANs for the time that they will co-exist on the same L2 segment just does not seem worth the headache.

 

Now for the painful part - the "wrong" AP is "offsite" - can I swap Virtual Controllers without having to bring them back and forth?

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,011
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Standalone or Separate Management VLAN

You can drop a configuration backup in.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
MVP
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎07-12-2012

Re: Standalone or Separate Management VLAN

To respont to the initial question :

 

You can keep them for the time beeing in the same cluster and configure the SSID's and AP's using the Zone option:

http://www.arubanetworks.com/techdocs/Instant_41_Mobile/Advanced/Content/UG_files/CustomizeIAPParams/Conf_zone_settings.htm?SearchType=Stem&Highlight=zone|zones

 

Then when they become separate the settings would still work as long as the uplink has access to the new subnet/vlan that you are moving it to.

 

If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: