Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-05-2016

Transition Master to Slave : IAP lose config ?

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

I have two IAP's. IAP 205 and 225.

I am testing the quick loss of the Master IAP, and the transparent failover of virtual controller. So i unplugged the master to simulate the loss, the other IAP become master.

When the IAP is re-plugged, as it's configured as master prefered, it returns to master state. The other IAP reboot and came up as slave. This is a normal behavior for me.

 

The problem is connectivity between master and slave is lost, i can't see slave on VC and i can't reach master from slave.

 

I think that slave came up with default wired profiles so it can't reach master because it has wired ports configured access when it's trunk on switch.

I have two solutions to retablish connectivity :

- switch config on switch to access and then to trunk when slave has sync with master

- reload slave IAP (i don't understand here why it doesn't work at the first reboot)

 

Both are annoying when u want transparent failover.

Is there a trick or something i miss on configuration to avoid this ?

Thanks for help

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,968
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Transition Master to Slave : IAP lose config

Which version of IAP is this?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-05-2016

Re: Transition Master to Slave : IAP lose config ?

IAP-205 & IAP-225

Version : 6.4.2.6-4.1.1.11

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,968
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Transition Master to Slave : IAP lose config ?

For the IAP that does not join back, can you paste in the output of "show log system"?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-05-2016

Re: Transition Master to Slave : IAP lose config ?

After reboot :

slave_log.png

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,968
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Transition Master to Slave : IAP lose config ?

What is .150?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-05-2016

Re: Transition Master to Slave : IAP lose config ?

[ Edited ]

The end of IP address.

.150 is the master

.149 is the slave

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,968
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Transition Master to Slave : IAP lose config ?

Is that the first AP or the second AP?  Who does it say is the master?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-05-2016

Re: Transition Master to Slave : IAP lose config ?

.150 is the first IAP, configured as prefered master. .149 is the other.

.150 is the one i unplugged for testing.

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,968
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Transition Master to Slave : IAP lose config ?

It correctly says that it is the master.  You probably would need the ouput of 'show log system' on the -preferred master to see if that access point is joined by the non-preferred master.  If not, you should upgrade to the IAP code (4.2.3) that came out today to see if it makes a difference.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: