Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Super Contributor I
Posts: 318
Registered: ‎05-09-2013

VLAN derivation per building

Hey all,

Need to setup VLAN assignments for Corp network on a per building basis. Don't want different SSIDs and people could roam between them so AD groups won't work. Thought about using "AP-Name" rule because all APs will be named per building, but can't seem to get
it to work. Any other ideas or methods to accomplishing this? The IAPs will all be on the same L2 across the board, so seperate VC's isn't going to work.

Thx
Michael Haring | Network Engineer - ACMP, ACCP
Comm Solutions Company | www.commsolutions.com
Guru Elite
Posts: 7,851
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: VLAN derivation per building

AP-Name should work with a regex. Please share some screenshots.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
Super Contributor I
Posts: 318
Registered: ‎05-09-2013

Re: VLAN derivation per building

Image 2016-06-02 131035 001.png

 

Image 2016-06-02 131035 002.png

 

 

So VLAN is 21 - 10.10.21.x, but we continue getting the default VLAN of 10, which is configured on the wired port. I have tested VLAN 21 successfully by statically setting it to only that VLAN, but the dynamic doesn't seem to be working.

 

Michael Haring | Network Engineer - ACMP, ACCP
Comm Solutions Company | www.commsolutions.com
Guru Elite
Posts: 7,851
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: VLAN derivation per building

Oh, sorry. I thought you meant in ClearPass. I've definitely used AP-Name in
ClearPass, but not in local VLAN assignment rules.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
Guru Elite
Posts: 7,851
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: VLAN derivation per building

Oh, sorry. I thought you meant in ClearPass. I've definitely used AP-Name in
ClearPass, but not in local VLAN assignment rules.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba ClearPass TME
@timcappalli | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480 / ACEAP / CWSP
Super Contributor I
Posts: 318
Registered: ‎05-09-2013

Re: VLAN derivation per building

Yeah only using IAPs right now. Is there any orher way of doing this locally? We are using Windows NPS, could we return a value based on the AP we are connected to? Again, easy in ClearPass, but not familiar with this type of setup in NPS.
Michael Haring | Network Engineer - ACMP, ACCP
Comm Solutions Company | www.commsolutions.com
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: