Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-21-2012

Wireless bridge between two wired IAP-134

We have two IAP-134 access points. Both are wired and hence having a role of mesh portals.

How do I establish a wireless mesh link between them?

When I disconnect the wire from one of them, it becomes a mesh point and connects to the mesh portal through the air.

However, as soon as I put the Ethernet cable back, the AP becomes mesh portal again and breaks the wireless mesh link.

Thanks!

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,029
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Wireless bridge between two wired IAP-134

You need to provision one as a mesh Portal and one as a Mesh Point for this to work.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-21-2012

Re: Wireless bridge between two wired IAP-134

Thanks, that sounds logical. And that's what I'm trying to do, actually.

But there is no such configuration in GUI that will allow me to specify like OK, this baby is a mesh portal and this baby is a mesh point.

As I see now the mesh role is assigned automatically and depends on the Ethernet connectivity.

At the same time the CLI prompt gives me "Warning: configuration via CLI is not supported!" every time I try to configure the node.

So would you please give me a quick hint on how to "provision one as a mesh Portal and one as a Mesh Point".

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,029
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Wireless bridge between two wired IAP-134

The ArubaUS 6.1 User Guide here http://support.arubanetworks.com/DOCUMENTATION/tabid/77/DMXModule/512/Command/Core_Download/Default.aspx?EntryId=5926 in chapter 8 details how to create a mesh network.

 

There is a little configuration involved before you designate a device a mesh portal and mesh point and chapter 8 details this.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-21-2012

Re: Wireless bridge between two wired IAP-134

Thanks, reading the doc right now.

Last question, do I have to have a controller in addition to APs to deploy my described scenario?

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,029
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Wireless bridge between two wired IAP-134

Wait!  I made a mistake! You have IAPs.  You do NOT need a controller to do mesh.  Ignore that document.

 

Here is how you make the AP on the far end bridge that ethernet port:

 

a. Select AP, click edit for per-AP-setting.
b. Edit->uplink->Eth0 Bridging. Select Enabled.

 

Reboot that AP to make it work.

 

Sorry about that :(



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-21-2012

Re: Wireless bridge between two wired IAP-134

No problem, my bad, I should have put better description :)

 

But now I don't have a "uplink" tab in my per-ap configuration menu.

I've looked everywhere, nothing related found.

Does it depend on firmware? Mine is:

ArubaOS (MODEL: 134), Version 6.1.3.1-3.0.0.1

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,029
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Wireless bridge between two wired IAP-134

Yes,

 

You need at least Version 6.1.3.1-3.1.x.x



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-21-2012

Re: Wireless bridge between two wired IAP-134

Ahh, that's the root of a problem.

Thanks so much!

God give me patience as you have ;) 

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-21-2012

Re: Wireless bridge between two wired IAP-134

Just a follow-up question.

I've made it run, the topology is as follows: two wired IAPs with a wireless link established between them. One IAP (remote) has bridging enabled.

However, when I try to send L2 traffic from an Ehternet segment attached to the first IAP to an Ethernet segment of a second IAP over the air, the traffic does not make it through. Though over-the-air ping from one IAP to another is OK.

Did I misconfigured something?

Would appreciate your help in solving this.

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: