Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
swt
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-16-2014

iap - multiple VC in same subnet?

 I've got 18 iap-135 and a few 105 in one cluster. I want to create a second cluster with 4 iaps for a seperate building on our campus. (the reason for the second cluster is I'd like different SSIDs in our seperate building) - I'm told the only way to do this is by creating a seperate cluster.

 

Each ap has a static IP in our management vlan (vlan 11). For guest internet I'm using vlan pooling (terminating vlans on firewall/router)  and doing dhcp on our firewall / router appliance. Can I create a seperate VC in the same management vlan or do I need to use a different vlan / subnet?

 

thanks

 

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: iap - multiple VC in same subnet?

If the APs all share the same management Vlan they will all join the same cluster.   You will need to place them in separate vlans.

 

You can, however, place IAPs in "Standalone Mode" which allows each IAP to be its' own VC even if they are in the same vlan. This might not be the best approach for you as you would wind up managing 5 VCs total.

swt
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-16-2014

Re: iap - multiple VC in same subnet?

thanks Marcus. I will create a new management vlan for the new cluster

vmo
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-20-2015

Re: iap - multiple VC in same subnet?

It's been some time since you gave this answer. Is it now possible to get two clusters on the same subnet?

 

Regards,

MVP
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎07-12-2012

Re: iap - multiple VC in same subnet?

At this time there are ways you could do 1 or more clusters on the same subnet.

But in the case presented at the begining given the way that the new OS is done you could define ZONE on AP and SSID thus limiting the broadcasting of a certain SSID on only some AP's thus not needing to divide in more then 1 cluster.

If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!
vmo
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-20-2015

Re: iap - multiple VC in same subnet?

Thank You!

Any documentation links regarding multi cluster scenario?

MVP
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎07-12-2012

Re: iap - multiple VC in same subnet?

[ Edited ]

It's only something in theory .... I don't think there are documentations about something like that.

If you want to know more PM me and I can provide you what in theory might work and if you have a lab to test ... we can work together on that.

 

Then if you want you can post the documentation in the monthly contest on the forum :)

If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!
MVP
Posts: 4,269
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: iap - multiple VC in same subnet?

https://arubanetworkskb.secure.force.com/pkb/articles/HowTo/How-to-restrict-of-a-wireless-network-only-to-one-or-few-IAPs-in-an-IAP-cluster
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: