Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-17-2014

invalid image format

I am trying to add 2 new Aruba AP-105 to our existing Aruba network with no success. I connect a console cable to the AP-105, and found this error. Look like the image is corrupted? Hit to stop autoboot: 0 Checking image @ 0xbf100000 Invalid image format version: 0xffffffff Checking image @ 0xbf800000 Invalid image format version: 0xffffffff I was using the “setenv serverip” command to point it to one of the working aruba to get the image, but got this error. Using eth0 device TFTP from server 192.168.10.2; our IP address is 192.168.10.246 Filename 'mips32.ari'. Load address: 0x2000000 Loading: T T T T T T T T T T Retry count exceeded; starting again anyone know the fix? manually reloading the OS? thanks.

Aruba Employee
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎07-14-2013

Re: invalid image format

Are these IAP-105s or AP-105s? They cannot be used interchangeably.

Sent from my iPhone
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-17-2014

Re: invalid image format

Hi Yan, thank you for your reply.

All devices are showing this. I don't have physical access to the device at this point, but i will check on Monday. thanks.

 

APBoot 1.2.4.4 (build 26618)

Built: 2011-01-07 at 13:42:04

Model: AP-10x

CPU:   AR7161 revision: A2

Clock: 680 MHz, DDR clock: 340 MHz, Bus clock: 170 MHz

MVP
Posts: 1,422
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: invalid image format

Try a factory reset by holding the pin and then plugging in power to it.

Plug it into the network (same subnet) assuming it provides DHCP (or else configure a static)

It will then discover the VC automatically, no need to setenv serverip.

Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-17-2014

Re: invalid image format

I used the "upgrade os" command to upgrade the OS, it loaded, but showing a lot of error saying "turn off mobility"

I also noticed on the existing AP105, there is a small sticker showing IAP-105, the new APs only show AP-105, what's the difference between the two? thanks.

 

After the upgrade, the new AP boot,

<<<<<       Welcome to the Access Point     >>>>>

 

Launching IAP CLI...

process `snmpd_sap' is using obsolete setsockopt SO_BSDCOMPAT

 

asap_send_elected_master: sent successfully

wait for stm to initialize over

asap_send_elected_master: sent successfully

turn off mobility

(19:17:06) !!! Init ---> Slave

turn off mobility

User: (19:17:07) !!! Init ---> Slave

turn off mobility

(19:17:08) !!! Init ---> Slave

turn off mobility

(19:17:09) !!! Init ---> Slave

turn off mobility

(19:17:10) !!! Init ---> Slave

turn off mobility

 

MVP
Posts: 1,422
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: invalid image format

Are you trying to use a NON Instant AP in an Instant cluster? Campus or RAP Based AP-105 in a IAP-105 cluster??
That will not work.
Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-17-2014

Re: invalid image format

Hi Pmonardo

 

I don't know the difference between IAP and AP, I am new to Aruba.

I only know we have a few AP-105, didn't know there is IAP105 until now. so the AP-105 can be use as standalone AP only?

 

thanks.

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: invalid image format

AP-105 is a controller-based AP and requires an external Aruba controller appliance and licensing.

 

The IAP-105, aka Instant, is controller-less.  All the control / management function is built into the IAP.

 

You cannot mix AP-105 and IAP-105 in the same cluster as IAPs can only manage other IAPs.

MVP
Posts: 1,422
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: invalid image format

So what you wanna do is contact your Aruba sales person and discuss the option of purchasing an Aruba controller for you AP-105s along with licensing.

 

Here is a link to the controller based APs from Aruba's website

http://www.arubanetworks.com/products/access-points/

 

Here is a link to the Instant (Cloud) based APs from Aruba's website

http://cloud.arubanetworks.com/products

 

You can easily identiyf whether an AP is instant or not but looking at the bottom of you will see the following for example

IAP-105. Look carefully.

Pasquale Monardo | Senior Network Solutions Consultant
ACDX #420 | ACMP
[If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!]
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: