ArubaOS and Controllers

Reply
Aruba Employee
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎07-03-2008

600-series local to 6000 on 3.3.2.x

Does Aruba have any recommendations for their customers who have master controllers running 3.3.2.x but wish to deploy local 600-series controllers, which only run 3.4?

FYI, upgrading the masters to 3.4 is not an option at this time.

TIA
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,037
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Don't do it

Is the recommendation.

The commandset is not the same between 3.3.x and 3.4. A great deal of functionality has been added in 3.4. The licensing requirements are different, and so on, and so on.

The recommendation is don't do it.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Aruba Employee
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎07-03-2008

Re: 600-series local to 6000 on 3.3.2.x

Got it, thanks Colin.
Aruba Employee
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎04-11-2007

600-series local to 6000 on 3.3.2.x

I advise my customers to run the Aruba 600s as standalone masters until the time they are ready to run 3.4 in the core. If you are running Airwave you can manage both masters configuration with the new Aruba Configuration tool.

Gary
Aruba Employee
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎07-03-2008

Re: 600-series local to 6000 on 3.3.2.x

Thanks Gary. I'm actually just holding off on any 600-series purchases until I am ready to go with 3.4 on the rest of my network. Not a fan of using Airwave for management of any controllers.
MVP
Posts: 500
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: 600-series local to 6000 on 3.3.2.x

For whatever it's worth, we're using Airwave AOS config and it's working out very well in terms of configuring. It could definitely use a polish, but I believe that would make managing a bunch of standalone 600s MUCH easier.
==========
Ryan Holland, ACDX #1 ACMX #1
The Ohio State University
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: