ArubaOS and Controllers

Occasional Contributor II

AP Load Balancing 11a and 11g on 65AP

Hi all I work in a school and we have a large amount of student laptops around 600 in total mainly running from AP65’s in some locations I can have up to 20 laptops connecting to one AP.

I already use AP Load Balancing set up for the AP65s. But is there a way to load balance between 11a and 11g client connections to the AP?

The 11g client connections seem to take preference on the laptops. E.g. A trolley of 20 identical laptops and 18 will connect on 11g and only 2 connected on 11a. This obviously starts to take its toll on the 11g connected laptops, slowing them down.

Any suggestions welcome.
Aruba Employee

Band Steering

Yes we have something that will help you out. In 3.3.2.16 we started supporting band-steering which moves 11a clients to 11a even if they are defaulting to 11g because they are dumb clients. Here is the snip from the release notes and a config snip.

!
wlan virtual-ap "yoyo"
aaa-profile "yoyo-aaa_prof"
ssid-profile "yoyo-ssid_prof"
vlan 1
band-steering
!

ArubaOS 3.3.2.16 includes the following ARM 2.0 features:
Band Steering
Band steering actively guides faster 802.11a/n clients to the best available wireless channel. The result
is better noise immunity, fewer sources of interference, and more available channels. If a client
supports both 2.4GHz and higher speed 5GHz bands, this feature will automatically direct it to the 5GHz
band for best performance.

Re: AP Load Balancing 11a and 11g on 65AP

Still only running 3.3.1.13 so it might be time for an upgrade on my controllers.

One thing though, wouldn’t this just force all of my laptop clients onto 11a and cause exactly the same problem of all the laptops on 11a, slowing them down again?

What I want is 10 laptops on 11a and 10 on 11g give or take a couple either way.
Aruba Employee