ArubaOS and Controllers

Reply
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎08-29-2008

After OS Upgrade to 3.4.2.1 APs Rebooting

I upgraded my controllers from 3.4.0.5 to 3.4.2.1 on Monday and now random APs are rebooting themselves at random times.

I checked to see if they were up to date on there FW and there are.

Here's the info...

Access Points Image Version

---------------------------
Running Image Version String
3.4.2.1(p4build@stan)#23459 Fri Feb 12 19:56:09 PST 2010

Flash Image Version String
3.4.2.1(p4build@stan)#23459 Fri Feb 12 19:56:09 PST 2010

Matches
Yes

Num Matches
2

Num Mismatches
0

Bad Checksums
0

Image Load Status
Done
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,373
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

show log system "x"

Use "show log system " to see why they are rebooting. You can also do a "show ap debug system-status ap-name to see the reboot reason.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Regular Contributor I
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎08-29-2008

Re: After OS Upgrade to 3.4.2.1 APs Rebooting

Good morning Colin,

SHOW SYSTEM LOG ALL
All the APs are posting these messages...

Reboot Reason: AP rebooted Fri Mar 5 08:35:18 EST 2010: SAPD: Forward mode changed for radio 1 VAP 0

Process Manager (nanny) shutting down - AP will reboot!


SHOW AP DEBUG

Reboot Information
------------------
AP rebooted Thu Mar 4 21:56:03 EST 2010: SAPD: Forward mode changed for radio 1 VAP 0
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rebootstrap Information
-----------------------
(none found)
------------

Crash Information
-----------------
(none found)
------------


Thanks for your help!
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,373
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Forward Mode Changed

So that means that someone changed the forward mode of an virtual ap from Tunnel to bridge or split tunnel. The AP reboots when that happens. Is that the only reboot message that you see? Can you look in the audit trails (show audit-trail) to see if that corresponds with a virtual-ap forwarding change?


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Regular Contributor I
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎08-29-2008

Re: After OS Upgrade to 3.4.2.1 APs Rebooting

Good morning Colin,

All it is showing is the Airwave box logging in and out

Mar 8 08:59:25 cli: USER: xxxxxxx has logged in from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx.
Mar 8 08:59:25 cli: USER:xxxxxxx@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx COMMAND: -- command executed successfully
Mar 8 08:59:25 cli: USER:xxxxxxxx@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx COMMAND: -- command executed successfully
Mar 8 08:59:25 cli: USER: xxxxxxx connected from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx has logged out.
Aruba Employee
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-05-2009

Re: After OS Upgrade to 3.4.2.1 APs Rebooting

Hi Worlisman,

Is Mode-aware ARM enabled?
This is a setting in ARM Profile (rf arm-profile)

(Aruba3200) #show rf arm-profile default | include Mode
Mode Aware Arm Disabled

(Aruba3200) #

- Kiran
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎08-29-2008

Re: After OS Upgrade to 3.4.2.1 APs Rebooting

Good morning Kiran

Yes, ARM is enabled.
Aruba Employee
Posts: 664
Registered: ‎04-15-2009

Re: After OS Upgrade to 3.4.2.1 APs Rebooting

John,

There is a mode that ARM can operate in where it will sense overlapping coverage and dynamically shift APs into Air Monitor (AM) mode. This is called Mode Aware ARM. If this is enabled, the radios may be attempting to shift into AM mode and causing this error message. I would not expect an error about the forwarding mode, but it would be interesting to know if the APs are attempting to covert themselves when the error occurs. Can you run the command Kiran mentioned and see if Mode Aware ARM is enabled?
Regular Contributor I
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎08-29-2008

Re: After OS Upgrade to 3.4.2.1 APs Rebooting

Good morning olino,

Sorry, when I wrote that ARM was enabled I should have typed it all out.

Yes "Mode Aware Arm" is showing a status of "Enabled"
Aruba Employee
Posts: 664
Registered: ‎04-15-2009

Re: After OS Upgrade to 3.4.2.1 APs Rebooting

Then that may explain why you are seeing that. Kiran pointed out a bug that would cause exactly the issue you are seeing. This bug is fixed in 3.4.2.2, so an upgrade should make it go away.
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: