ArubaOS and Controllers

Occasional Contributor II

CLI verses GUI

I use the CLI with every switch and router on campus except the Aruba controller. I have been working with this controller for about 3 months and only with the web GUI. Should I go back and learn the CLI. Which is better. I know that is an opinion but a bunch of one line replies with opinions would be helpfull. My main concern is that we have three controllers and when I add a group in the GUI it is taken care of. Do I consider the master controller to be the one I use for the cli or do I have to duplicate across all controllers. In the gui it shows all the AP's in the cli it only shows the ones on that particular controller. I am at a point that I could go either way and I am just looking for what most others use.

Thanks
Mark
Guru Elite

CLI vs. GUI: Master vs. Local

I use the CLI with every switch and router on campus except the Aruba controller. I have been working with this controller for about 3 months and only with the web GUI. Should I go back and learn the CLI. Which is better. I know that is an opinion but a bunch of one line replies with opinions would be helpfull. My main concern is that we have three controllers and when I add a group in the GUI it is taken care of. Do I consider the master controller to be the one I use for the cli or do I have to duplicate across all controllers. In the gui it shows all the AP's in the cli it only shows the ones on that particular controller. I am at a point that I could go either way and I am just looking for what most others use.

Thanks
Mark

Mark,

there are some things that are easier to do via the cli. Every config screen has a "show commands" button which will show you the CLI equivalent of the GUI, before it is committed via the APPLY button. You will have to decide if CLI is more efficient than the gui, but there are some things that you can only accomplish via the commandline, and some things you can only accomplish via the gui.