ArubaOS and Controllers

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎03-07-2011

Can't ping APs

I somehow cannot ping my APs from my workstation. All APs are in a seperate vlan with subnet 172.20.6.32/255.255.255.224.

Route informaton AP;

(ZMARUBA01) #show datapath route ap-name "GDF-ZM-AP01"

Route Table Entries
-------------------

Flags: L - Local, P - Permanent, T - Tunnel, I - IPsec, M - Mobile, A - ARP, D - Drop

IP Mask Gateway Cost VLAN Flags
--------------- --------------- --------------- ---- ---- -----
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 172.20.6.33 0 0
172.20.6.32 255.255.255.224 172.20.6.36 0 1 L
192.168.11.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.11.1 0 4095 D

I can ping the AP from the core router itself and from the controller. The controller does not have a leg in 172.20.6.32/255.255.255.224 so this is also routed via the core.

Is the AP denying ping from my workstation or should I dig into the routing?
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,966
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Can't ping APs

Can your workstation ping ANYTHING on that subnet? Yes you should dig into the routing, because the AP should respond to pings.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor II
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎03-07-2011

Re: Can't ping APs

I just plugged a laptop into the same vlan as the APs, and I can ping the laptop. The laptop gets an IP out of the same scope as the APs.
Nice detail; from the laptop I can ping the APs :) Must be an ACL somewhere?
Contributor II
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎03-07-2011

Re: Can't ping APs

Bump.
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,966
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Can't ping APs

Please post a network diagram with your setup, including what is supplying DHCP, subnet masks and physical connectivity to devices. There is not enough information, between configuration, physical and logical setup to determine the issue.

If you need a quick resolution to this issue, please open a support case where they can request and process personal information that cannot be posted here.

Please keep in mind it is never really necessary for you to be able to ping access points; they only have to be able to reach the controller using their protocols to function.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎07-26-2010

Re: Can't ping APs

Hi,

I think I have a similar problem with pinging the AP from a different subnet.

We use NAT on our cisco routers to be able to route the APs subnet out over our WAN. The router has 2 VLANs, say VLAN 1 is 10.1.1.0/24 and VLAN2 is 10.10.10.0/24. The AP sits on VLAN1 and would be 10.1.1.1 and this IP can be pinged OK from the router. However, if you try and ping the NAT IP of 10.10.10.1, you get no reply. If I swap this AP for a Cisco 1131, I get a reply. Both from the local router and from somewhere on the WAN, so I know it is something on the AP (AP61/68). I've looked at the ap-role and the polices within that - control and ap-acl and within ap-acl there is a permit any any icmp rule and I'm reluctant to start playing around too much!
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,966
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Can't ping APs

Access points functioning as Campus APs are not designed or expected to pass traffic through a nat boundary.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-31-2011

spectrum network monitoring with icmp

hi,

we need to have the ap 125 in our campus network to be pingable from an external spectrum server.
Am i right if suppose that the AP ip is terminating at the controller and the source IP is that controller IP?
A ping from the customer edge router to the ap will be answered with the controller ip.
Any ideas?

Thank you!
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,966
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Can't ping APs

It depends.

If the spectrum server is managing information about the access points through SNMP, all the information is obtained through the controller. If the spectrum server is also pinging the individual access points, it also needs to be able to access the ip addresses of the APs to ping them.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-31-2011

Re: Can't ping APs

It´s not as complicated:

the access points are in Network a: 172.16.100.0/24 for example. A Network management Device is located in Network B: 192.168.100.0/24 - is it possible for the Network management station to ping the Accesspoints directly, or do they only respond to pings from their network segment?
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: