ArubaOS and Controllers

Occasional Contributor I

Guest access

I'm fairly new to Aruba and would like to understand if guest access can be setup without using the captive portal and either wep (I know) or pre-shared keys. We have a large facility that's hosts quite a few events and have customer using gaming consoles, etc. that don't supports browsers. This is also something I'd probably only turn-up for the duration of an event.

Thanks...
Aruba Employee

Re: Guest access

Assuming you have PEF you can just create a user role that suits your needs and place those users in that role. Most likely the standard guest role won't do it for you given the user type you've described. Once the associate they are restricted to what the role you defined allows them to do.

-awl
Andy Logan, ACDX
Director, Strategic Account Solutions
Aruba Networks
MVP

Assuming you are using default profile, your guests will get the “guest-logon” role.
Enter “GUEST any any permit” in the access-list “logon-control”
GUEST is an alias include ip addresses of all guest ip addresses.

netdestination GUEST
network 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0

# show rights guest-logon

Derived Role = 'guest-logon'
Up BW:No Limit Down BW:No Limit
L2TP Pool = default-l2tp-pool
PPTP Pool = default-pptp-pool
Periodic reauthentication: Disabled
ACL Number = 6/0
Max Sessions = 65535

Captive Portal profile = default

access-list List
----------------
Position Name Location
-------- ---- --------
1 logon-control
2 captiveportal

logon-control
-------------
Priority Source Destination Service Action TimeRange Log Expired Queue TOS 8021P Blacklist Mirror DisScan
-------- ------ ----------- ------- ------ --------- --- ------- ----- --- ----- --------- ------ -------
1 user any udp 68 deny Low
2 any any svc-icmp permit Low
3 any any svc-dns permit Low
4 any any svc-dhcp permit Low
5 any any svc-natt permit Low
6 GUEST any any permit Low
captiveportal
-------------