ArubaOS and Controllers

Reply
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎09-26-2008

Health Status of AP antenna?

Hi All,
How do we know the health status of Aruba AP antenna?
How do we know whether it is degrading?
How do we know it is functioning efficiently and effectively?
Pls advice....
Cheers,
Michael
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎04-29-2009

Re: Health Status of AP antenna?

If you are using the internal antenna then no - if you are using an external antenna you can use the Antenna 1, do a survey, then change to Antenna 2, and redo the survey - if you see a big difference that antenna (or cable) is suspect.

If using internal antenna, when you installed the AP you did a coverage survey didn't you :-) redo the survey and see if there is a noticable difference now.
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,029
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

RFT Test

If you are using ArubaOS 3.3.x and above you can also use the RFT test command to test antenna connectivity:

(M3.arubanetworks.com) # rft test profile antenna-connectivity ap-name AP70-A dest-mac 00:05:5d:84:fe:b1 phy a
Transaction ID: 1

(M3.arubanetworks.com) #show rft result trans-id 1


Profile AntennaConnectivity, TransID 1, AP 1.1.1.249, Dest 00:05:5d:84:fe:b1, Radio 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Antenna Connectivity Test Result
--------------------------------
Antenna 1: Avg S/N ratio: 37 Success Rate: 99%
Antenna 2: Avg S/N ratio: 37 Success Rate: 100%
Difference: 0 1%


Of course you would need a client as a point of reference to test (dest-mac) parameter

A more expanded explanation of the RFT Test command is here: https://airheads.arubanetworks.com/forum/cotd-rf-troubleshooting


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎04-29-2009

Re: Health Status of AP antenna?

Nice one Colin - didn't know that one!!
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-07-2009

RFT Test

A phy a test will only work if the user is connected with 802.11a, correct? And the same with an 802.11b/g connection for a phy g test, right?
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,029
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Does not have to be connected

The client does not have to be connected, but has to be able to be heard by the antenna that you are testing with.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: