ArubaOS and Controllers

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-17-2010

Login via captive portal on android

Trying to login on our hosptals aruba networks with an android phone gives a "server not available" error. A classic redirect on a testserver works.
Got an ip from the network. Tried everything. Tried multiple browsers(native android browser, opera mini, firefox for android, dolphin for android). Even going straight to the login page doesn't work.
Can anyone help me?:rolleyes:

Gert
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,993
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Version of Code

What version of code is this?
What android device is this?
What browser on android were you using?


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-17-2010

Re: Login via captive portal on android

1) Software version controler (AOS-W) is 3.4.2.1
2) Phone is HTC desire running android 2.1 (Eclaire)
3) Tried native android browser, opera mini, firefox for android (alfa), dolphine for android.
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,993
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Captive Portal

Is your Captive Portal customized at all? Is there any way to change it to the stock "Aruba" Captive Portal and try again?


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-17-2010

Re: Login via captive portal on android

We're checking this out. Thanks for your advice!
Contributor I
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎04-29-2008

Re: Login via captive portal on android

Just a note. I recently got an incredible. ( I think it is...) the custom login was no prob. Of course since I admin this thing, I added myself to the mac authentication list. No login needed.

Using stock browser, btw. Opera mini caused device reboots (phone not controller)
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-17-2010

Re: Login via captive portal on android

Going back to the original captive portal made no difference.
What did we discover in the mean time.
1) The phone gets an IP from the network(readable on the phone).
2) On the console:
a) The mac adres of the phone is blanc
b) The mac adres of the phone is registered as the ip of the phone.
This happens on a network with captive portal but also on a totaly open network.

Using the same phone on other open and protected networks gives no problem.

Can anyone help us?

Gert
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-17-2010

Re: Login via captive portal on android

Going back to the original captive portal made no difference.
What did we discover in the mean time.
1) The phone gets an IP from the network(readable on the phone).
2) On the console:
a) The mac adres of the phone is blanc
b) The mac adres of the phone is registered as the ip of the phone.
This happens on a network with captive portal but also on a totaly open network.

Using the same phone on other open and protected networks gives no problem.

Can anyone help us?

Gert
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,993
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Unusual

Please send the output of "show user " when the device is connected and "show user mac " if you can.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-17-2010

Re: Login via captive portal on android

Screenshot in attachment!

Gert

(EMZO_WifiController_Master) #show user-table mac 00:23:76:fa:14:86

Station Entry
-------------
MAC Name Role Age(d:h:m) Auth AP name Essid Ph
y Remote Profile
------------ ------ ---- ---------- ---- ------- ----- --
- ------ -------
00:23:76:fa:14:86 ok_guest 00:00:03 No test_gid test_WLAN g
No test_WLAN-aaa_prof
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: