ArubaOS and Controllers

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎06-17-2011

Mode-Aware ARM Problem

Hi,

I have several WLANs and enabled "Mode Aware arm" for ARM profile. At one point one of the AP closed its .g band and the clients cannot see any network, but .a band was working. Looking at the monitoring for the related AP, I saw that .g band was working in scanning mode. This is normal if all the APs in that area are working at the same VirtualAP. Only that AP was broadcasting unique WLAN and should not be disabled for ARM scanning. I were not waiting that.

Is it a bug or should we consider that for "Mode Aware arm"? Should this mode consider the APs WLANs?

Thanks.

Note: We disabled that mode and it is now working?


------------------------
show ver
Aruba Operating System Software.
ArubaOS (MODEL: Aruba6000), Version 6.1.2.2
Website: http://www.arubanetworks.com
Copyright (c) 2002-2011, Aruba Networks, Inc.
Compiled on 2011-08-02 at 07:43:04 PDT (build 29541) by p4build

ROM: System Bootstrap, Version CPBoot 1.2.0.0 (build 20527)
Built: 2009-01-20 18:56:10
Built by: p4build@re_client_20527


Switch uptime is 14 days 14 hours 21 minutes 51 seconds
Reboot Cause: User reboot.
Supervisor Card
Processor XLR 732 (revision C4) with 2017M bytes of memory.
32K bytes of non-volatile configuration memory.
512M bytes of Supervisor Card System flash (model=CF 512MB).
Guru Elite
Posts: 19,997
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Mode-Aware ARM Problem

Mode aware ARM is used to turn of access points where there is too much coverage so that additional APs on the same channel cause less interference. If you are not overdeployed to the point of having interference, you should NOT use mode aware ARM.

In your case, Mode aware ARM disabled an access point, because there were too many access points on that channel. You need to be broadcasting the same wireless networks on all access points to work properly.
Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Validated Reference Design Guides : http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/tkb-p/Aruba-VRDs
Contributor I
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎06-17-2011

Re: Mode-Aware ARM Problem

OK. I understand that I should use the same WLAN for all of the APs regardless of its Virtual AP configuration. Configuration fault. :(

Thanks for quick response.

hdemir.
Guru Elite
Posts: 19,997
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Mode-Aware ARM Problem

it is okay. You did not know.

Hopefully it works bettter now.
Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Validated Reference Design Guides : http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/tkb-p/Aruba-VRDs
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: