Occasional Contributor II
stobbe_s

RADIUS server group - can a server be used based on subnet?

I have a Master-local controller setup. The Master is located at our district school office, and locals are installed at a bunch of schools.

The current setup for our corporate VAP is a server group with one RADIUS server located centrally. This works fine, but I would like to eliminate traffic traversing our WAN links when possible. I would like to use the local domain controllers on site with RADIUS - so users on the local controllers will use local RADIUS for authentication.

I've been looking at server group match rules on the authstring, which will probably work for machine auth because each of the school machines begin with a unique string for that site. However, for user auth we use one single domain and the authstring would not contain anything unique per site.

Does anyone know if there's a way to specify a RADIUS server be used per local controller, or per subnet?

Thanks.
Steve
cjoseph

Re: RADIUS server group - can a server be used based on subnet?

No.

You would have to create a new virtual AP, which under it would have a new AAA profile (which would contain a different server group) and the same SSID profile.
Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering
stobbe_s

Ok - thanks for the feedback. I was hoping to avoid creating a unique VAP for each site (we have ~140 sites) - but if that's the only way to do it - then that's what I'll do.

Steve
cjoseph

You have 140 sites, but how many radius servers do you have? You can just put both radius servers into the AP-group and when one fails or is unresponsive, the other will take over. Either that or you can have two virtual APs: one that has the first radius server first and another that has the second radius server first. If the latency between site and the radius server is not above 100 milliseconds, you usually do not have anything to worry about.
Colin Joseph
stobbe_s