ArubaOS and Controllers

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

T-Mobile UMA and Aruba

We have many UMA BlackBerry devices and I am working to make the call quality great. It's currently not. I've downloaded the whitepaper mentioned in this press release < http://www.arubanetworks.com/company/news/release.php?id=150 > and am curious if anybody in this group has implemented UMA support. There are several ways so please share.

Ideally, I would like my UMA phones to connect to the same SSID as the laptops and desktops (for simplicity) and give the voice calls priority. We're not opposed to creating another SSID for voice if that's the best way.

(I also posted this on the linked-in group in case you are seeing this twice)

EDIT BELOW

So I've added some firewall rules that seem to help:


!
netdestination blackberry-svc
host 204.187.87.88
host 216.9.242.88
!
netdestination tmobile-uma-svc
host 208.54.5.1
host 208.54.3.1
host 208.54.4.0
host 208.54.6.1
host 208.54.7.1
host 208.54.8.1
host 208.54.83.1
host 208.54.84.1
host 208.54.85.1
host 208.54.86.1
host 208.54.87.1
host 208.54.88.1
host 208.54.90.1
!
ip access-list session tmobile-uma
user alias tmobile-uma-svc svc-esp permit disable-scanning queue high
user alias tmobile-uma-svc svc-ike permit disable-scanning queue high
user alias tmobile-uma-svc svc-natt permit disable-scanning queue high
user alias blackberry-svc tcp 443 permit disable-scanning queue high
!
user-role Staff-Role
vlan 50
session-acl tmobile-uma
session-acl allowall
session-acl cplogout


This has drastically improved call quality but I still see a lot of hits to the wifi-gateway and sometimes I can see a UMA icon but not actually be able to make a call.

Here is an example of a failed connection:

(eaglenet4) #show datapath session table 10.83.30.20

Datapath Session Table Entries
------------------------------

Flags: F - fast age, S - src NAT, N - dest NAT
D - deny, R - redirect, Y - no syn
H - high prio, P - set prio, T - set ToS
C - client, M - mirror, V - VOIP
I - Deep inspect, U - Locally destined

Source IP Destination IP Prot SPort DPort Cntr Prio ToS Age Destination TAge Flags
-------------- -------------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ---- --- --- ----------- ---- -----
10.83.30.20 10.83.28.1 1 5376 2048 0 0 0 3 tunnel 113 33 FYCI
10.83.30.20 10.83.28.1 1 5120 2048 0 0 0 6 tunnel 113 6a FYCI
10.83.30.20 10.83.28.1 1 4864 2048 0 0 0 9 tunnel 113 a1 FYCI
10.83.30.20 10.83.28.1 1 4608 2048 0 0 0 12 tunnel 113 d8 FYCI
10.83.30.20 10.83.28.1 1 4352 2048 0 0 0 16 tunnel 113 10f FYCI
10.83.28.1 10.83.30.20 1 4864 0 0 0 0 9 tunnel 113 a1 FI
10.83.28.1 10.83.30.20 1 4608 0 0 0 0 12 tunnel 113 d8 FI
10.83.28.1 10.83.30.20 1 4352 0 0 0 0 16 tunnel 113 10f FI
10.83.28.1 10.83.30.20 1 5376 0 0 0 0 3 tunnel 113 33 FI
10.83.28.1 10.83.30.20 1 5120 0 0 0 0 6 tunnel 113 6a FI
204.187.87.88 10.83.30.20 6 443 61792 0 0 0 14 tunnel 113 4ed HV
10.83.30.20 204.187.87.88 6 61792 443 0 0 0 14 tunnel 113 4ed HCV
Guru Elite
Posts: 20,981
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

T-Mobile UMA

Sable,

I have seen this working at a number of sites, both with a dedicated SSID and a mixed data/voice SSID. Three of the key points is configuration, coverage, and software version. The guide has an ACL that you should use for good voice quality (copied it below). Since handheld devices have less powerful radios, good coverage is a key ingredient of such a deployment. T-Mobile has been doing a decent amount of interoperability testing has has improved it's voice quality and roaming to a certain extent, so all of your handsets should employ the latest version possible to take advantage of this. Sometimes it takes making a call to your local T-Mobile engineer to make this happen. They are happy to give you assistance if they know you are trying to do UMA in an enterprise.

What is not the best, however is T-Mobile roaming from Wifi to GSM and back. Performance in the 2.4 Ghz is better than performance in the 5ghz, but is improving.

Just like the whitepaper says, for the best results, you should have the following netdestination and firewall policy on whatever role you have the phones in:

netdestination tmobile-uma-svc
host 208.54.3.1 255.255.255.0
host 208.54.4.1 255 255.255.0
host 208.54.6.1 255 255.255.0
host 208.54.7.1 255 255.255.0
host 208.54.8.1 255.255.255.0
host 208.54.83.1 255.255.255.0
host 208.54.84.1 255 255.255.0
host 208.54.85.1 255 255.255.0
host 208.54.86.1 255 255.255.0
host 208.54.87.1 255 255.255.0
host 208.54.88.1 255 255.255.0
host 208.54.90.1 255 255.255.0
!
ip access-list session tmobile-uma
user alias tmobile-uma svc-esp permit disable-scanning queue high
user alias tmobile-uma svc-ike permit disable-scanning queue high
user alias tmobile-uma svc-natt permit disable-scanning queue high
!
User-role logon
Session-acl tmobile-uma position 1

Of course, you should allow DHCP, DNS, etc for regular clients, as well.

A user at a University put this ACL in his captive portal "logon" role, so that students could attach to the University wireless network without logging in and still make UMA calls if they have T-Mobile phones.

Please let us know how you do.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: T-Mobile UMA and Aruba




I think this will be the big step for us. I've heard that Aruba has worked with T-Mobile on 4.5.169 for the 8820 and there may be newer software available for the 8320 as well. It is not on the T-Mobile BlackBerry upgrade site though.

Also, do you think it's necessary to have WMM enabled on the SSID or will that only add to the confusion?

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,981
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Uma

Purpanther,

A separate SSID with WMM with all the recommendations plus your findings would be the best way to test the software. T-Mobile is coming out with a new version of code shortly, so it would be interesting to see the comparison between what is there now to what comes out.

Please let us know how it performs.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Aruba Employee
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎05-16-2007

Re: T-Mobile UMA and Aruba

I've also heard that this new version of code for the T-Mobile Blackberries REALLY improves roaming performance quite a bit.
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: T-Mobile UMA and Aruba

I was able to get a hold of 4.5.0.39 from T-Mobile for my 8820. I'll upgrade tomorrow and see how it works out. Of course, my VP, Directors, Managers, etc all have 8320's.
Aruba Employee
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎04-02-2007

Re: T-Mobile UMA and Aruba

I have received positive feedback from a customer who had upgraded their BlackBerry 8820's to the 4.5.0.139 code. It went from flaky connection, to something they can rely on today.

Note: the code change was only to the Blackberry. Without going into too much details, RIMM did a lot of work to improve their roaming algorithm.

Note 2: I am not aware that this fix has been implemented in the 8900 which is a newer model. I am sure they will have a patch given the feedback on the 8820.
Aruba
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎04-09-2007

New software for BlackBerry 8820 with UMA (T-Mobile)

T-Mobile has just posted the new BlackBerry 8820 software (4.5.0.139) here http://www.t-mobile.com/bbupgrade/ . I saw some different numbers on the release notes, but the file is correct (4.5.0.139).

This software is a huge step forward for the 8820 on Wi-Fi. It makes better, faster decisions about inter-AP handover. The code was developed by RIM of course, but we ran extensive tests on Aruba's Sunnyvale network while working on it with both RIM and T-Mobile.

With older software, the 8820 would tend to 'stick' to an access point even when it had a poor signal and there was a better access point available. This could result in problematic voice calls. The new software is much quicker to hand over, and makes good choices of access point. You shouldn't find you are connected to an access point on the other side of the building, even though there is one close by.

Thus far I know of two customers who have upgraded to 4.5.0.139, and they have been very pleased. I still find it a little 'twitchy' - it tends to handover to cellular (EDGE) at the slightest glitch on Wi-Fi, but so long as the call stays up, the user will not notice. I understand that when the cellular signal is not good, there will be a stronger tendency to stay on Wi-Fi, but I have not been able to test this.

PT says check it out.

Peter Thornycroft
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: T-Mobile UMA and Aruba

I realize that it's been a while since we've updated this thread but I did want to report back. It seems that the biggest problem is not in roaming, which is still an issue on the 8320, but in simply making phone calls.

The handset connects to the network correctly, get an IP via DHCP, hits DNS, goes to RIM, and T-Mobile gateway servers and even shows UMA ... but then we get:


Connection: Error
Error Code:
Status: UTC channel activation failed:




When I ask users if they have trouble making calls they say "yes, all the time". I don't know if that means every day or every ten minutes. Either way, UTC channel activation seems to be the only indicator in an otherwise positive looking wifi diagnostic page.

This happens on an unencrypted link or an encrypted link .This happens even when using a dedicated voice ssid with WMM enabled and no other traffic allowed.

Any ideas?
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-21-2009

Re: T-Mobile UMA and Aruba

I just wanted to bring this thread back to life since we are about to demo T-mobile's UMA technology.

I will try to keep it as updated as possible.
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: