ArubaOS and Controllers

Reply
MVP
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Upgraded 3.3.2.11 to 3.4.0.4 & all RAPs now offline

Hi All,

As I cannot get through to the aruba tech support number on the website (rings 3 times then cuts off :mad:) I thought I'd post on here to share my issue.

We have an A200 in our office and 4 RAPs for remote users working from home .

Yesterday we upgrade our aruba controller from 3.3.2.11 to 3.4.0.4. All RAPs disconnected and appeared to be updating their software however none of them have reconnected with the controller.

Is anyone aware of any issues which could cause this?

Cheers
J
Cheers
James

-------------------------------------------------------
-------------------@whereisjrw-------------------
------------------------blog-------------------------
ACCX #540 | ACMX #353 | ACDX #216
-----------Mobility First Expert #11----------
-------------------------------------------------------

If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Aruba Employee
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎04-02-2007

Re: Upgraded 3.3.2.11 to 3.4.0.4 & all RAPs now offline

Not that I'm aware of. Are you still having issues reaching tech support?

Cheers.
MVP
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: Upgraded 3.3.2.11 to 3.4.0.4 & all RAPs now offline

I was contacted directly by Dirk Campbell, Director, Global Technical Support and we are still working on this.

We have our RAPs in the office now and and when they are provisioned, either as a remote or local access point, they do not work.

We are using AP70's and 65's both with the same issue.

We have purged the config on the APs.
The AP now shows on the aruba controller and all lights are on solid before they are provisioned.
Provisioned as a local AP
After the AP reboots the a and b/g lights are off (on the 65's they are dim)
The AP reboots after a few minutes automatically and stays up for a few minutes and reboots again etc.

Here's a sample of the log from the controller.

Has anyone else got this version installed?
Can anyone shed some light on this issue?

APBoot 1.5.5 (build taylor@harpua-ENG.0000)
Built: 2006-02-24 18:31:22 (with gcc 3.3.1)

CPU: AR5312 MIPS-32 at 220 MHz: 16 kB I-Cache 16 kB D-Cache
Board: Mataro, Local Bus at 110 MHz
DRAM: 32 MB
POST: passed
FLASH: 4 MB
Net: en0 lo0

Reboot caused by Watchdog Timeout!

Hit to stop autoboot: 0
Loading FLASH image @ 0xbfc40000... not present
Loading FLASH image @ 0xbfc80000...
Verifying checksum...
Booting image...

..........................

Aruba Networks
ArubaOS Version 3.4.0.4 (build 22127 / label #22127)
Built by p4build@cartman on 2009-08-17 at 13:16:18 PDT (gcc version 3.4.3)
BOARD - Mataro
CPU frequency 220.00 MHz
Using 110.000 MHz high precision timer. cycles_per_jiffy=220000
Memory: 26808k/32768k available (1851k kernel code, 5944k reserved, 428k data, 2
192k init, 0k highmem)
available.
detected lzma initramfs
initramfs: LZMA lc=3,lp=0,pb=2,dictSize=8388608,origSize=11424256
LZMA initramfs by Ming-Ching Tiew ...........................
...................................................
....................................................................
wdt: registered with refresh
RAMDISK driver initialized: 16 RAM disks of 4096K size 1024 blocksize
physmap flash device: 400000 at 1fc00000
Macronix Flash MX29LV320A (Top) (User Locked)
phys_mapped_flash: Found 1 x16 devices at 0x0 in 8-bit bank
Amd/Fujitsu Extended Query Table at 0x0040
number of CFI chips: 1
Parsing the partition info

Starting Kernel SHA1 KAT ...Completed Kernel SHA1 KAT
Starting Kernel HMAC-SHA1 KAT ...Completed Kernel HMA
Starting Kernel DES KAT ...Completed Kernel DES KAT
Starting Kernel AES KAT ...Completed Kernel AES KAT

apfcutil -c RAP: OK...................
bond0: Atheros AR2313: 00:0b:86:c1:55:34, irq 3
AP xml model 2, num_radios 2 (jiffies 6907)
radio 0: band 1 ant 0 max_ssid 8
radio 1: band 0 ant 0 max_ssid 8
asap_gre_init: ADDED GRE protocol c009d258
ath_hal: module license 'Proprietary' taints kernel.
Getting an IP address...
192.16ath_hal: 0.9.17.1 (8.254.115 255.25AR52125.255.0 iras-fir, AR5312ewall.i
Running, RF5111 ADP...Done. Mas, RF5112ter is 192.168.2, RF241354.80
, RF5413, RF2316, RF2317)
ath_rate_atheros: Version 2.0.1
Copyright (c) 2001-2004 Atheros Communications, Inc, All Rights Reserved
ath_dfs: Version 2.0.0
Copyright (c) 2005-2006 Atheros Communications, Inc. All Rights Reserved
ath_ahb: 0.9.4.5 (Atheros/multi-bss)
devid=0x57
AR2313_REV2/7
wifi0: Base BSSID 00:0b:86:95:53:48, 8 available BSSID(s)
edev->dev_addr=00:0b:86:c1:55:34
edev->dev_addr=00:0b:86:c1:55:34
wifi0: AP type AP-65, radio 0, max_bssids 8
wifi0: Atheros 5312 WiSoC: mem=0xb8000000, irq=2
AR2313_REV8
wifi1: Base BSSID 00:0b:86:95:53:40, 8 available BSSID(s)
edev->dev_addr=00:0b:86:c1:55:34
edev->dev_addr=00:0b:86:c1:55:34
wifi1: AP type AP-65, radio 1, max_bssids 8
wifi1: Atheros 5312 WiSoC: mem=0xb8500000, irq=5
Cheers
James

-------------------------------------------------------
-------------------@whereisjrw-------------------
------------------------blog-------------------------
ACCX #540 | ACMX #353 | ACDX #216
-----------Mobility First Expert #11----------
-------------------------------------------------------

If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-08-2007

Re: Upgraded 3.3.2.11 to 3.4.0.4 & all RAPs now offline

AFAIK the AP65 is now not support on the latest firmware, but I don't have the upgrade doc infront of me. Check the LMS and other IPs in the AP system profile and make sure its reachable. There was a note in the upgrade doc about this, also the firewall.

I would try resetting an AP, clearing it out of the database, then re provision it. I had to do this on a few APs when we upgraded.
Aruba Employee
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎04-02-2007

Re: Upgraded 3.3.2.11 to 3.4.0.4 & all RAPs now offline

Which release note are you referring to where the AP65 is not supported? I've not heard this and have looked through the notes, and my AP65 RAP is still running at home :)

-awl
Andy Logan, ACDX
Director, Strategic Account Solutions
Aruba Networks
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-08-2007

Re: Upgraded 3.3.2.11 to 3.4.0.4 & all RAPs now offline

My mistake it was AP-52s!
Aruba Employee
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎04-02-2007

Re: Upgraded 3.3.2.11 to 3.4.0.4 & all RAPs now offline

I thought that might have been what you meant, but thought I should double check, thanks...

-awl
Andy Logan, ACDX
Director, Strategic Account Solutions
Aruba Networks
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-01-2009

Re: Upgraded 3.3.2.11 to 3.4.0.4 & all RAPs now offline

Make sure that the local database user account(s) still exist for the remote access points.
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: