ArubaOS and Controllers

Occasional Contributor II

validating identity problem

I'm an Aruba newbie getting familiar with the 3200. I have 802.1x authentication setup using MS NPS. I can test authenticate to NPS. I have a CA with trusted cert on test laptop. I have .1x set up Aruba AAA profile for machine autheniicaton and have created a gpo to push to client. The problem is that I get a "validating identity" on the client and no dhcp assignment (dhcp is external). I'm watching realtime stats on NPS and the machine is logging but not connecting. The event viewer security log is showing no audit failures. I think I have misconfigured the controller and i just can't pin down what the problem may be. I've been reading the UG and this forum for a few days and can't come up with a solution. I have a ciisco 5500 with 100 APs at another clients with a similar setup but I think I'm just to new to the aruba setup. Any help appreciated.
thanks
Guru Elite

Re: validating identity problem

On the commandline of the controller, type "show auth-tracebuf". If you have a radius server and it has a certificate, you need to make sure that the client trusts the certificate. To test this, uncheck "Validate Server Certificate" on the PEAP settings for the client and see if it goes through.

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

telnet problem

I can't enable the console through telnet to run the command. Will not accept the root account password..

Telnet access is disabled by default on Aruba controllers. You have to either connect it via sshv2 with username/password, or enable telnet access.

Telnet option ussually found in Configuration ->General screen on webui.

to do the show auth-tracebuf (mac of laptop), you first should enable debugging for the mac address

logging level debuging user-debug xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx