Campus Switching and Routing

Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-20-2012

Aruba Switches and Nortel-Avaya Phone Systems

I recently needed to configure S3500's to work with Nortel-Avaya VoIP phones. Going through the different discussions here I found that information on configuring this wasn't here. Though I know most won't need this information, if I ran into it there has to be others out there who will end up running into the same issue.

Some of the older Nortel-Avaya phones do not support the currently documented VoIP phone configuration detailed in the MAS configuration files. I wanted to post how I was able to get these phones working.

 

One thing that needs to be done that most with these phones will know is that DHCP options 128 and 191 need to be configured on the Data VLAN and VoIP VLAN that are being used. 

 

We are currently implementing the Aruba switches in place of Brocade switches so there had to be a way to replicate what Brocade calls "Dual-Mode". 

Here is the switching profile detailing how to do this directly from my configuration:

switching profile "DATA-Profile"
------------------------------------
Parameter Value
--------- -----
Switchport mode trunk
Access mode VLAN 1
Trunk mode native VLAN 100
Enable broadcast traffic rate limiting Enabled
Enable multicast traffic rate limiting Disabled
Enable unknown unicast traffic rate limiting Enabled
Max allowed rate limit traffic on port in percentage 50
Trunk mode allowed VLANs 100,200

 

So in my configuration I have the data VLAN "100" being passed through as the native VLAN so that it passes as untagged traffic so that another type of network device could still plug in and use the port. The VoIP VLAN "200" is also included in the trunk and this is what the VoIP phone will use to communicate. The VoIP phone knows to use this VLAN because of the DHCP options previously mentioned.

 

Again I know that most on here will be able to use the VoIP VLAN in the MAS switch but I wanted to make sure that others weren't searching for methods to get their Nortel-Avaya phones working on these switches as I was.

 

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-15-2013

Re: Aruba Switches and Nortel-Avaya Phone Systems

[ Edited ]

I am trying to get the Nortel i2004 NTDU82 model to work also. I have tried the configuration with the voip-profile and the access vlan associated with the interface. I tried using lldp and manually setting the dscp to 46 and tried 40 too, without any luck.

 

I just need the phone to allow a PC to connect on the PC port of the phone while still allowing the phone to access the VOIP vlan.

Aruba
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎05-30-2012

Re: Aruba Switches and Nortel-Avaya Phone Systems

Can you attach a copy of your config?

 

Best regards,

 

Madani

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-20-2012

Re: Aruba Switches and Nortel-Avaya Phone Systems

Have you configured the DHCP options for your system?

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-15-2013

Re: Aruba Switches and Nortel-Avaya Phone Systems

[ Edited ]

interface-profile voip-profile "voiptest"
voip-vlan 64
voip-dscp 46

voip-mode static

 

interface-profile switching-profile "Vlan152"

access-vlan 152

 

interface gigabitethernet "0/0/46"
voip-profile "voiptest"
qos trust auto
switching-profile "Vlan152"

 

At first, I used voip-mode auto-discover with the default lldp profile enabled on the interface. Then, I discovered this current firmware revision (0602B76) for this phone does not support lldp, so I switched to static. I have tried a dscp value of 40 and 46. I also enabled qos trust auto on all configs and without it to see if that would help resolve the issue.

 

 

I have configured the phone for the following options.

 

DHCP = 1(Yes)

DHCP = 0(Full)

VLAN = 2(Auto)

Cfg PK = 0(no)

Cfg XAS = 0(no)

 

 

In recent firmware revisions of some Nortel phones, they have the option to enable LLDP. Not sure if this one does though.

 

 

EDIT: I could not edit and attach the text file with the full configuration, so I just posted it at the top.

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-20-2012

Re: Aruba Switches and Nortel-Avaya Phone Systems

On your DHCP server you need DHCP option 191, this option looks like this: "VLAN-A:200." where VLAN 200 is your associated VoIP VLAN. So this option 191 is configured with your data VLAN. Once this option is in place configure your switching profile like I have up above and your DHCP server will redirect your phone from the data VLAN to the VoIP VLAN.

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-15-2013

Re: Aruba Switches and Nortel-Avaya Phone Systems

[ Edited ]

I see in your initial post that you have these options applied to the data vlan and the voice vlan(or the server options?). Is that correct or am I misunderstanding? We already have option 128 configured on our voice vlan only. 

 

EDIT: I actually think that I may have found an article detailing what I am asking. 

 

http://blog.michaelfmcnamara.com/2007/10/dhcp-options-voip-part-2/

 

So option 191 is applied to the data vlan and option 128 is applied to the voice vlan? (If I am reading correctly, lol.)

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-20-2012

Re: Aruba Switches and Nortel-Avaya Phone Systems

Yup that is correct you need option 191 on the data vlan to move the phone to the VoIP vlan
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-15-2013

Re: Aruba Switches and Nortel-Avaya Phone Systems

[ Edited ]

Thank you so much!! :smileyhappy:

 

 :catvery-happy:

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-20-2012

Re: Aruba Switches and Nortel-Avaya Phone Systems

No problem, let me know if this works for you, I'd be happy to keep helping you.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: