Campus Switching and Routing

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-13-2016

Smart Rate with 10G Server

Hi,

 

I known HP has Smart Rate on 2 models (3810M, Line card on 5400).

My question is Smart Rate support 10G server or not. 

I mean server where I connect 10G port from server to smart rate port. Does it provide 10G speed?

 

Thank you in advance.

Thank you,
Ratchapas S.
Guru Elite
Posts: 8,340
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Smart Rate with 10G Server

You'll likely have to staticly set the speed, but it should work.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-13-2016

Re: Smart Rate with 10G Server

Hi,

 

It should be configured staticly speed 10G to support server, right?

I cannot find any document to support this. But server will get 1/10G speed, right?

 

Thank you

Thank you,
Ratchapas S.
Guru Elite
Posts: 8,340
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Smart Rate with 10G Server

Yes statically configure both sides.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-13-2016

Re: Smart Rate with 10G Server

Thank you for your answer 

Thank you,
Ratchapas S.
Aruba Employee
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎11-17-2015

Re: Smart Rate with 10G Server

[ Edited ]

Chiming in to note that Smart Rate ports will generally autonegotiate the highest speed supported by the link and the port at the other end, whether server or switch or access point.  I would expect that you should only need to manually set the speed of a Smart Rate port in infrequent cases where the connected device uses a non-standard negotiation method.



Matthew Fern | Technical Marketing Engineer, Campus Networking
Aruba, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-13-2016

Re: Smart Rate with 10G Server

Thank you for more details.

Thank you,
Ratchapas S.