Campus Switching and Routing

Reply
MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Using aruba switch as core or distribution switches

anyone got it?

not recommended as the aruba switch should be used as access onrs?

 

opinions please?

 

cherrs

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Aruba
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎05-31-2007

Re: Using aruba switch as core or distribution switches

Hi Carlos,

 

We have a partnership with Arista Networks for the CORE,  our focus is on the EDGE.  The distribution layer, depending on requirements could be services between both the solutions.

 

JF

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎08-31-2010

Re: Using aruba switch as core or distribution switches

JF - Arista? When did that happen? You got any references to any deployment documentation related to Aruba/arista designs? Very interested... ;)
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-08-2013

Re: Using aruba switch as core or distribution switches

Anybody using the S3500-24F as a distribution layer switch?  Appears as though this might be positioned as a pretty decent closet aggregation point.

MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Using aruba switch as core or distribution switches

Hello JF

When you think in a core switch you think in a modular switch?


I was more thinking as a switch core for not BIG companies... i mean Small Bussiness or Mid Market bussiness which does not use Modular switches(because they cannot afford it)

For example someone that would use an alcatel 6850 as core swtich

Or maybe a Cisco 3700 or 3600 switch


Remenber our market is not US market...

Maybe less maybe 250 to 500 users.

 

You Know whats my point?:)

 

We got yes clients using Modular switches for example Alcatel 9800E which is a modular switch(it would be like a Cisco Nexus) Those companies are like 2000+ users or BANKS which has less than 1000 users but they need something really robust.

 

But then we got LOT of clients having a Cisco  3700 as their core or a Alcatel 6850 Even  6450

 

 

In alcatel 6850  is a Distribution layer switch or campus access layer switch

in alcatel a 6450 is a Access layer switch

They cannot afford a modular swtich!

 

You get my point now? :)

 

Now i was thinking why not a S3500 as their core? is there any limitant for this?  maybe performance? or something else? im not looking at?

 

Remenber that our market here is differente, a big company here could be a mid sized company in the US, a small company in the US could be a Mid size company in my country.

 

Cheers

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Guru Elite
Posts: 8,637
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Using aruba switch as core or distribution switches

If you were doing single area OSPF routing or just layer 2 switching, the S3500-xF would be adequate an aggregation/distribution switch.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Using aruba switch as core or distribution switches

[ Edited ]

Most of them are not  even doing dynamic routing protocols...

The model is simple

 

Firewall-->Core--->Access switches

OR

Firewall-->Core--->Distribution--->Access Switches

 

Most common is the first one...

Remeber this is NOT USA!

 

For example there is a High school of around 1000 students put it like 1300 users

They got what?

A core swtich(Using a 6850 24 Fiber switch( this switch is Access OR distribution swtich NOT a core) or at least thast how Alcatel put it on their homepage

And then got a lot of 6250 and 6450 alcatels which are access layer swtich and thats it.

 

Now i was thinking in this kind of Scenario

Core = S3599

Access layer = S1500s and S2500

 

This is a long term plan i might want to do, having them a Full Aruba Infraestructure(they already got all Aruba WLAN) and yes on some other clients too.


Of course for those clients which are not really bying CORE switches(like modular switches) they are more buying Access sswithces or Distribution swithces as CORE as they are not that big.  i mean most of them less than 500 users.  Some on 10000 Users

If i compare the performance of a 6850 vs a S3500

 

S3500-24P/24T/24F: 128 Gbps/95 Mpps

 

Alcatel

OS6850-24X: 64Gbps Fu ll  Dup lx  or   128Gbps s  aggregate

 

And well they work great with that.  I mean with the 6850 as a core switch

 

Looks the same to me...

Are there other things i need to see besides that?

 I mean taking in mind those clients do not use Dynamic protocols, and have no plans in using them.

 

 

At least i see its a possible option if i see the numbers but still its scary as Aruba says we are an access layer specialist we are not CORE specialist, our swtiches are not inteded to use as a CORE swithces and thats why i asked if they think    a core switch like as a modular switch like a Cisco Nexus for example.

 

Also was asking if anyone here got  a  S3500 as core swtich :)

 

Cheers

Carlos

 

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
MVP
Posts: 3,009
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Using aruba switch as core or distribution switches

Do anyone got a performance table of ArubaSwitches vs Cisco Switches

Or something like

This arubaSwitch is the one that competes with this Cisco Switch?

 

Cheers

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Aruba
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎05-30-2012

Re: Using aruba switch as core or distribution switches

Soapdish,

This is a little late but here is an interop report we did with the Arista 7050S

 

http://www.arubanetworks.com/pdf/TR_AristaInteroperability.pdf

 

Best regards,

 

Madani

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: