Controller Based WLANs

How can I downgrade from ArubaOS 3.2 or later to 3.1 or 3.0?

Aruba Employee

Product and Software: This article applies to ArubaOS 3.0 or later.

In ArubaOS 3.2, the format of the controller login username and password was changed for better security. So, when you need to downgrade from 3.2 or later to 3.1 or 3.0, the system displays the following warning:

Warning: The default boot partition was not changed because the downloaded image is incompatible with the default config file.

 

To downgrade from ArubaOS 3.2 or later, follow these steps:

  1. Change the boot configuration file to a 3.1 or 3.0 configuration file instead of the default.cfg file.
  2. Change the system partition to the code you want to downgrade to.
  3. Reload the controller.

You may have made a lot of configuration changes after upgrading from 3.0 or 3.1, so you might want to use the current 3.2 or 3.3 configuration file. If so, you have to copy the current 3.2 or 3.3 default.cfg file out and use a LINUX editor to change the line "version 3.2" or "version "3.3" to "version 3.1" or "version 3.0", and repeat the above procedure. However, because the format of controller username and password has changed in 3.2 or 3.3, you have to do password recovery after the controller comes back from reloading.

Version history
Revision #:
1 of 1
Last update:
‎07-06-2014 10:49 PM
Updated by:
 
Labels (1)
Contributors
Search Airheads
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Is this a frequent problem?

Request an official Aruba knowledge base article to be written by our experts.