Question: How do I force an instant role change on a user?
Product and Software: This article applies to all ArubaOS versions.
By default, the user role for an authenticated user is not applied to the user while the user is authenticated and is connected to the network. By default, the user role is applied when the user is forced to reauthenticate.
An example is when a captive-portal user is falling into the default user role "guest". When you change the default role for captive-portal to "customized role", this role is not applied to this user unless the user reauthenticates.
But, you can change the user role instantly without waiting for the user to reauthenticate by issuing the following command:
aaa user add <users IP address> role <role name>
This user role is applied to the user instantly and it stays until the next authentication.