Controllerless Networks

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-14-2015

AP 105 Controller on IAP 105 network

I picked up 10 used (what I thought were IAP105's) AP-105's.  I have 25 IAP 105's on my network already.  My questions:

1. Can I setup the AP-105 to connect to the virtual controller on the IAP-105 network

2. If so, does it have to be configured over console?

3. If I can't do that, I will have to buy a controller.  I am due for a major overhaul in 7-9 months, so I don't want to buy anything new.  Anyone know what controllers will manage these? From what I  have found, I'll need a 24 unit controller. 

4. If a controller is introduced, will it mess with my current IAP's?

 

Thanks for help in advance!

Drew

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,765
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: AP 105 Controller on IAP 105 network

No, the campus APs cannot be managed by the Instant VC.

 

A 7010 controller will server 32 APs. You can either leave your Instant APs as is or convert them for use with the controller.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-14-2015

Re: AP 105 Controller on IAP 105 network

So they will not run in a mixed environment?  From what I have seen, it looks as though they plug directly into the device, and this is going in a 60,000 sq ft school, with multiple switching locations.  

 

Should I just scrap these?

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,765
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: AP 105 Controller on IAP 105 network

The AP-105s require a controller. Once you have a controller, the IAP-105s can either be converted to use the controller or remain independent running Instant.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-14-2015

Re: AP 105 Controller on IAP 105 network

Great. Last part of the question... Do they need to plug directly into the controller?  The 7010 is $3000, I just don't have that kind of a budget right now.  I'll sell these buy IAP's if I have to, but I'd rather get an older controller that can be scrapped in 7-9 months.

Thanks for all your answers thus far, Cappalli.

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,765
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: AP 105 Controller on IAP 105 network

No, they can plug into any edge switch with IP space routable back to the controller.

 

You could use an older 3200XM controller.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-14-2015

Re: AP 105 Controller on IAP 105 network

Thank you for all your time!

 

PAF
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-01-2016

Re: AP 105 Controller on IAP 105 network

Hi there,

 

Could someone tell me what WiFi controllers I could use i.e. is compatible with AP -105 AP's. Thanks 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,515
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP 105 Controller on IAP 105 network

All controllers should be compatible with the AP-105.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

PAF
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-01-2016

Re: AP 105 Controller on IAP 105 network

Hi Colin,

Thanks.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: