Controllerless Networks

last person joined: yesterday 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Aruba IAP 205 connecting to ADSL modem/NTU

This thread has been viewed 2 times
  • 1.  Aruba IAP 205 connecting to ADSL modem/NTU

Posted Mar 16, 2016 07:47 PM

Hi all,

I have to confess I've zero knowledge of Aruba IAP. My boss passed me a IAP 205 and ask me to hook up to the ADSL NTU/modem from an ISP.

I've a couple of questions here:

1. Can the IAP do NATing and as like a L3 "router"? Coz' the ISP only provided an ADSL NTU(bridging) with a RJ45 port. Should I connect the IAP Ethernet port to this NTU and configure the public static IP on the IAP Ethernet port? How about NATing? How do I configure it?

2. How about the wireless client? Can I configure DHCP on the IAP to serve out IPs to the wireless client? How do I do that? Any step by step instruction on this?

3. My boss also like to put in URL filter on the IAP (he said IAP able to do that). Eg. Only allow the client to surf URL ending with "abc.com". How do I do that?

A simple guide will be very much appreciated on this so call simple setup? I did this alot on Cisco device but is a total stranger on Aruba.

• 2.  RE: Aruba IAP 205 connecting to ADSL modem/NTU

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Mar 16, 2016 08:01 PM

You have alot of questions.

You can do all of those things, but the first thing you probably need to do, is to configure the PPPOE (ADSL connection).  You can do it via the commandline here:  http://www.arubanetworks.com/techdocs/Instant_42_WebHelp/InstantWebHelp.htm?_ga=1.43038629.1615771646.1440445030#CLI_commands/pppoe-uplink-profile.htm?Highlight=pppoe