Controllerless Networks

last person joined: yesterday 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Channel switching from Web UI is very slow.

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Channel switching from Web UI is very slow.

Posted Nov 24, 2015 10:58 AM

Hello all!  I'm new to 802.11n network management and am really just running our equipment through some simple tests for the actual networks.  I'm very used to automated cycling and data gather and was trying to setup test just to get me using the equipment and tools and get better at designing tests.

Currently wanting to do something simple:

Single IAP-215 with one client connected and using OmniPeek to collect data (aggregated data from 3 channels).

I want to switch channels on the IAP-215 on 5GHz networks and just get the reconnect time for the client.  At the moment, I've been poking around the Web UI and switching channels manually (slow, tedious, and can't really be automated unless using Xnee or something similar).

I have run into something strange though.  When I switch channels with the AP, I see that the beacon stops broadcasting on channel X (expected), but it takes one to two minutes before it starts broadcasting on the new channel Y (very slow).  Does the AP reboot during channel changes?  That seems really weird to me.

So I guess I have the following questions:

1.  How long should a channel change take via the Web UI?

2a.  What are the commands to change channels from the CLI?

2b.  Is there anyway to automate the process so I can just run a boatload of cycles over night?

3.  Currently running OmniPeek on a Windows 7 OS.  Any suggestions for an OS to use?  I have access to a few different Linux distros as well as windows.

• 2.  RE: Channel switching from Web UI is very slow.

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Nov 24, 2015 11:21 AM

What method are you using to switch channels?