Controllerless Networks

last person joined: yesterday 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Doubts or issues with guest networks

This thread has been viewed 1 times
  • 1.  Doubts or issues with guest networks

Posted Jun 30, 2016 03:40 PM

Hi everyone..!

I'm new to aruba and Im experimenting with a couple of demo devices: IAP-205 and IAP-225, no big controller or anything else, just the IAPs.

The issue Im facing now is that Im trying to set up a guest network in order to prepare the devices for demo environment. One of the thins I need to do for security reasons, is to separate the guest network from the internal network.

This is how things are beeing set up for the moment:

1. Our main firewall is the DHCP for our internal network.

2. I just plugged the IAPs into the network, so they have aquired a internal IP address and connected to Aruba central for administration.

That's it.

I first configured a wireless network for internal use, which works just fine.

The problem comes with the guest network, because initially works great, but it has access to internal network. So i add a new rule in the firewall restricting access to our internalnetwork/24 , but once this is done, guests are not having Internet anymore.

I found the configuration of the VLAN that the IAP's use for when they are set as virtual DHCP's, so I set up public DNS in order to pass those to guest clients, but still no Internet access.

What confuses me a little, is that even though the guests are getting the correct IP and everything, when performing a trace route, they don't use the virtual gateway, but goes to our internal instead:

Tracert.png

As you can see, I have configured the DHCP pool for the IAP's to serve the network 192.168.200.0/27, and our internal network is 192.168.0.0/24. Our main gateway is 192.168.0.31.